18 comments on “April Mini-Reviews

  1. I’ve never been a re-reader – but I have always wished I were! I remember reading and really enjoying I’ve Got Your Number. I have never read Lee Child book, but I love suspense/mystery novels and wonder if I’d enjoy them.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! Good luck with Bout of Books next week!

    • I love to re-read my favorites, it’s something I don’t make nearly enough time for… but there’s just so many new books! Thanks for reading!

  2. Great reviews- I wasn’t a big fan of the Atkinson book either- felt the exact same as you did! And I agree about The Girl with… series. I liked the 1st and 3rd best- sec on was a long intro to the 3rd. I really love that series, though!

    • I just remember so many people saying the first one was too slow and the second was so much better… but I guess we’ve all got our own preferences. It is a great trilogy, definitely glad I made the time to read it again!

  3. I’m partway through Life After Life right now. I was so excited to read it because everyone was raving, but I’ve sort of stalled at the 1/3 mark. The premise is interesting, but it’s not really grabbing me either. I expected more action from this kind of story. It has nothing on “My Name is Memory,” another reincarnation story — I loved that one to pieces.

    • I was pretty disappointed. Mainly because of the hype, of course… but it sounded like such an interesting idea, and I just didn’t get anything out of it. But… maybe it will pick up for you? Thanks for stopping by!

  4. Great month :) I’m curious about the Stieg Larsson books, but not sure if they’ll be my cup of tea.

    I personally enjoyed Life After Life, I think the “point” for me was the thoughts it provoked on how a little thing you do (or not do) can change the course of the future. Somehow that has always been something that has interested me a great deal. I also found the writing beautiful. This book tends to be the kind, though, that many like and many don’t, because we are all so different.

    • I’m usually not big on literary fiction, so it’s not all that surprising that I didn’t like it. I know some people reserve 1 star for truly terrible books, which I don’t think this was… but definitely not my cup of tea.

  5. I still need to read life after life. I’m sad you only gave it one star. That makes me want to push it futher down the TBR list

    • It had been on my TBR for quite a while, which I think (along with the hype, of course) contributes to the disappointment. I definitely can’t urge you to pick it up, but just about every review I’ve seen has been much more favorable than mine, so… grain of salt, and all that.

    • It’s a credit to the book that I did keep reading, it just wasn’t in any way satisfying. I don’t need a shiny happy ending from my books, but I do want to feel glad, when I turn that final page, that I went on the journey… and that just didn’t happen with this one.

  6. I enjoyed Life After Life, but the ending did leave me thinking, “And what was she supposed to be doing?” I read another one with the similar premise, but much more detail and to the point with the character’s purpose. It’s called The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August. I really liked it…if you like the premise of being reborn, this one is different from Life After Life.

    • I’d heard about that one, and it did sound really interesting… and perhaps a little more up my alley. Thanks for stopping by!

  7. I just started my long neglected Elizabeth Haynes ARC — Dark Tide — it’s pretty good so far. I’m hoping I will want to continue with Into the Darkest Corner as that one sounds particularly compelling.

    • It was really good. It definitely pulled me into the life of the character, which is what I really want from a good book. I’m planning to read her other books sooner rather than later.

Comments are closed.