12 comments on “Bookish Thoughts – Read-a-Thon Edition

  1. I can totally understand why being home can be distracting — it’s hard to shut off the part of your brain that sees all the things around the house the you need/would like to get done. I’ve gone on “working vacations” where I work a full 40 hour week while away from home and without fail, it always feels like I have more free time than I usually do without all the house “stuff” calling my name.

    • Yeah, it was really a huge difference. Being in a different location just helps me to focus, and to feel like, even though I’m reading and blogging and I do those things all the time, there’s something different and special about this day.

  2. I wanted to participate but I always end up being busy when that read-a-thon is on. I probably wouldn’t be able to do the full 24 hours, I read most of the day as it is, and I definitely need my sleep lol. I am doing Bout of Books though!

    • Maybe if it were ten years ago, I’d be able to bounce back a little more easily… although I never really did the all-nighter thing back then either. It’s not that I can’t do it, but the benefits don’t outweigh the drawbacks.

    • I was definitely not expecting to! If I planned for it ahead of time – getting in a nap or two, or sleeping till noon (and missing the first several hours of the event) – it might be fun to stay up through the night. But I definitely won’t be doing it again the way I did it this time.

  3. That is an excellent point home definitely is full of distractions! I tried doing Dewey once a few years ago and I did pretty well but I remember there also being way too many hourly challenges which served to distract me from reading.

    • I didn’t actually do any of the challenges this time. But I feel like things that are a part of the read-a-thon are okay, as long as it’s fun. (I mean, obviously it’s still OKAY if I get distracted by other things as well, but you know what I mean.) I was bouncing back and forth between the internet and my book quite a bit, and I was fine with that. It’s when I start getting distracted by other things… whether it’s physical distractions or just the non-read-a-thon parts of the internet… although I did do a really good job keeping away from the non-read-a-thon internet.

  4. I should try doing rereads for read-a-thons, I don’t really re-read books fully, but it could take some of the rush off me. :D

    • I love re-reading. I can’t imagine just reading a book once and never again, if I really enjoyed it… but a lot of times that’s exactly what happens! I’m trying to make more of an effort to make time to return to my favorites, and I think if I start doing Dewey’s twice a year, devoting those to re-reads will definitely help.

Comments are closed.