14 comments on “The Second Annual Cheapy Awards

    • It’s one of those books that I’m sort of sorry I didn’t try earlier, but at the same time, maybe I just wasn’t ready for it yet. If I’d tried reading it a few years ago, it might have been a DNF, who knows?

    • I recently tried reading A Thousand Splendid Suns and I just couldn’t get into it. Not sure why. Maybe my reaction to And the Mountains Echoed was a first-time magic sort of thing. Or maybe my mind is just too scattered right now to enjoy it and I should be sticking to fluffy reads at the moment.

  1. I like that you only let one book win one category – stops it from being overly repetitive and allows you to give more love to more books!

    I’m sorry you didn’t love A Monster Calls as much as I did, but am still glad it was still worth reading to you and that it made your list :) (And whoops, also sorry I’m so vocal when it comes to that book and Patrick Ness, I can’t help it!)

    Wow, that’s actually the only book I’ve read out of all of these! Looks like I have some catching up to do :O The main one of my wishlist that you have here is Code Name Verity, but that makes me nervous since you didn’t like it as much as everyone else either. If/when I do read it, I’ll make sure to lower my expectations so they’re not inflated! I think all the praise does make it hard not to expect the best out of this one.

    • One category per book makes for some interesting battles in the weeks leading up to posting my list. Sometimes I feel like a book would really fit better in a different category… but the book that ended up winning would ONLY fit that category, so compromises need to be made. But I agree, I want to feature as many books as possible. Repetitive lists aren’t as much fun.

    • Thanks, Sarah! I should also mention I have you guys to thank for one of these; I doubt I would have picked up the Hosseini book if I weren’t a judge for the tournament last year!

  2. You totally reminded me that I still have Heart Shaped Box sitting halfread on my Nook! Can’t remember now what I put it down for but I should really get back to it. LOVED 11/22/63 when I read it and really enjoyed The Martian. Want to read A Monster Calls…but I’m a bit scared.

    Happy new year!

    • Reading A Monster Calls was like reading a more mature children’s book. It was a good story… but I’m more of a word person than a picture person, so I feel like I didn’t get as much out of it as I could have.

  3. The Martian is on my list of books to read here at the start of the year and I enjoyed 11/22/63 when I read it. I’ve thought about reading The Farm before, but it is part of a series? Maybe that’s why I didn’t get to it. I’m a stickler for reading books in order.

    • The Farm is a stand-alone, but the author’s other books are all part of the same series. This was the first one to break away.

Comments are closed.