23 comments on “Bookish (and not so bookish) Thoughts – #20

  1. About the Goodreads thing, I know! It’s pretty annoying. If you’re paying attention when you’re fanning someone, you should see some checkboxes that allow you to unfollow them but still be a fan of them. It’s not the most ideal situation but at least you can unfollow them pretty quickly!

    • Oh, I always unfollow them once I catch them. It’s GR automatically doing it without my say-so that really gets me. Thanks for stopping by!

  2. I dislike that too, about seeing author reviews in my feed. Most of the time they aren’t reading anything that interests me, anyway.

    I miss football and can’t wait for it to come back.

    I think about closing my Facebook a lot of days. I don’t post on it much and I only keep it open to keep in touch with family, and right now it’s the only way I can communicate with my brother while he’s overseas (Air Force). Instead – I should limit how often I check it.

    • For me, the decision to delete my account was two-fold. First, I don’t like a lot of what FB does in terms of what it shows you, what it doesn’t, and having to constantly look for workarounds or change settings in order to see the things I want to see. But then, even once I have that all worked out… most people just don’t use FB to keep in touch anymore. They post silly things at best, infuriating things at worst, and nothing actually about them and their lives. I finally decided it was just too much noise to be worth it. There are other ways to keep in touch.

  3. I was never that into facebook either, but I keep it around even though I don’t post on it. I don’t know why! :)

    With Goodreads – would it be helpful for you to use the “top friend” option and just filter your updates feed to view only those from your top friends?

    I’m going to a wedding this weekend actually! No more time to prepare, heh.

    • I actually do use the top friend feature anyway. So it’s not that it’s annoying to me on a day-to-day basis. It’s just the principle of the thing. Don’t make decisions for me! (Which, as I was just mentioning, is one of the reasons I left FB.)

      • Ah I see, that is understandable! Hopefully Goodreads will change that option and not assume people want to follow the reviews!

  4. I hadn’t noticed that about GR, but that is annoying! My library doesn’t start closing on Sundays until July, but summer weekends seem to be filling up with activities & obligations at an alarming rate anyway. I don’t usually go to the library to read, just to pick stuff up or do research, but I think I should try it sometime — they do have a good selection of comfy looking chairs :)

    • Mine is closed Sundays from Memorial Day to Labor Day. Which just means I have to find a different day to go. Sometimes I read, sometimes I browse… it’s just nice to get out of the house for something that’s not all stress and anxiety. The library is my happy place.

  5. Dude!! YES Goodreads is bugging me this week. I’m getting tons of random group invite requests (I already turned notifications for events off) and I hate that if I turn of book recs that I won’t get notified if people I really care to get recs from send them *sigh* so many things need to be fine tuned with GR. But I still prefer it over all the other options.

    • If I haven’t left by now, I probably won’t… unless something AMAZING comes along. But I have dialed my use way down from what it used to be. (And wasn’t all that Amazon money supposed to go toward making the site better?)

  6. Oh no, I forgot about summer library hours! Mine starts closing on Sunday’s too. I usually don’t stay too long there, but it’s always nice to have the afternoon to wander around and find a quiet place to read for an hour or two.

    • Yes, exactly. It’s part of my routine. You’d think it wouldn’t be a big deal to go any other time during the week, and I guess it’s not… but it’s also not quite the same.

  7. I often think about deleting my FB account but now I have a page attached for my blog. Admittedly it doesn’t have many likes but I want as many different ways to follow me as possible. I just completely ignore my personal FB. (Except recently I keep reposting blog things because shameless self promotion is great!)

    • I got rid of it for a few reasons. I had toyed with the idea of creating a page for my blog, but FB keeps making it harder and harder to actually reach people… and I know it’s affecting people who already have a following there, so trying to start from scratch now seems to be not worth the time. At least not for me. Thanks for stopping by!

  8. I admire that you are even thinking of not biting your nails for an upcoming wedding :) I MIGHT make the effort if I knew my own wedding was coming up, but even that is a stretch.

    And I have those moments now and then when I miss FB, because it would be nice to be able to put up a random post to the people I know in real life, or to see if the people interviewing at my job are on it… but the creep factor of FB keeps me from going back. I look forward to the day when FB is antiquated and people have a new social media thing to be all over.

    • Well, I’m wanting to get better about that anyway, the nail thing… so this is just extra incentive, so I’m not the only bridesmaid with raw fingers. My nails looked presentable for my own wedding, but I’ve come a long way since then in taking care of my nails. I just don’t have the consistency. (And yes, I keep waiting for FB to die… but as long as people keep using it, despite the complaints, it never will.)

  9. I’m SO excited about the NFL draft. I haven’t watched any of it — though I dearly want to — because I’m on a football news embargo until Jimmy Graham signs his contract. But I’ve been having my brother-in-law update me when the Saints draft somebody or when somebody from LSU gets drafted. It’s exciting!

    • We drafted a player from LSU! Ego Furguson was our 2nd round pick. Here’s hoping his name isn’t indicative of his personality…

  10. wow, I didn’t know GR auto subscribed you to an author’s reviews. I guess that’s probably because I have a “top friends” thing and I only follow those people in my feed heh.

    • I do the same thing. The only reason I notice is because I never use the follow feature… so when all of a sudden there was a new section on my profile page showing who I’m following, something was obviously up. I tend to get upset when websites think they know what I want better than I do. Thanks for reading!

  11. I moved about 18 months ago, only about 15 miles or so, in the same county. All of the libraries in the county used to be in the same library system but the city I moved to pulled out because they had more freedom and flexibility with what they wanted to do. Anyhow, the city I used to live in always had library hours that were limited and never worked for me. Now my new city library is open seven days a week, many nights until 9 and on Sundays from 12-5. I am terrible about returning library books on time so I honestly don’t check a lot of them out, but I love to go and browse, read while I’m there, and just hang out for a few hours because it’s a super nice library! (And their used bookstore is AMAZING!)

    • Wow, that’s great you have such a fantastic library! I hope when I move away from here that my new library is just as nice as the one I have here. Closing on Sundays aside, I’m pretty spoiled. Thanks for stopping by!

Comments are closed.