9 comments on “Sleep Along: Kick Off

  1. I read The Shining for the first time just a few months ago. It TERRIFIED me. No exaggeration. I even tried putting it in the freezer.

    (Post about my reaction to The Shining: http://btweenthecovers.com/2013/02/08/dearest-joey-putting-it-in-the-freezer-didnt-make-me-feel-safer/ )

    I really liked The Shining, despite the way it made me feel. I hadn’t been upset by a book like that in YEARS. In fact, maybe not ever.

    Then I watched the movie…and it SUCKED.

    I’ve gone into Doctor Sleep with no expectations. The Overlook has burned down, so Danny’s story has to be something completely different. I’m actually on Part Two of the book, and I’m thoroughly enjoying it so far…and it’s freaking me out a bit. Heh.

    • Heather, I’m curious … what was so upsetting to you in The Shining? I know that there were multiples pieces that were definitely upsetting, but I am always curious as to what affects people the most! I think it is the morbid side of me coming out!

      • I listed them in the post I linked above, but I’ll be happy to list them here, too. Heh.

        I have a hard time with alcoholism and domestic violence; Danny’s nightmares; the tight space Danny had to dig himself out of on the playground + the moving topiary; REDRUM (because I was slow enough not to catch what that meant until I was well into the book); the dead lady in the bathtub; the feeling of staring at something like a fire hose and wondering if it’s going to move on it’s own; the general tension in the book; and EVERYTHING that happened in the last hundred pages. Hahaha!

        • I really should have read your post before I commented! I just left a comment on your site with more detail! Thanks for answering here though, despite me doing a bit of head-desk! :)

  2. I raced through the audiobook of Doctor Sleep so fast and was so busy at work I completely forgot I had signed up to do this readalong! I forgot to tweet and everything. I plan to do a combined #1 and #2 post on Monday!

Comments are closed.