31 comments on “Bout of Books 8.0 – Day Seven & Wrap Up

  1. Such a shame Bellman & Black didn’t match expectations – it’s hard when a previous novel is so well loved. I think, judging from that, I may have a similar experience.

    It’s interesting how more underwhelming books can affect our speed of reading; it’s a frustrating battle of brain and book. I think three books in seven days is pretty amazing though!

    • Three in a week isn’t bad. It’s not unusual for me, but it’s definitely not a pace I keep up all the time (I don’t come close to 150 in a year!) and probably not one I’d have stuck with this week if it weren’t for Bout of Books pushing me.

    • I’m definitely planning on it! And hoping my life is a little more normal at that time, but I guess at this point it’s anybody’s guess. Thanks for reading!

  2. I wasn’t participating in this Bout of Books, but I’d say that you did a great job! I think the social aspect is one of the best bits about these events, so the fact that you participated in that side of it more than usual would be a success in my book! It just sucks that the books you chose didn’t wow you like they should’ve. That can definitely hurt a person’s progress! Ah well, there’s always next time ;)

    • I definitely favor the social part of the event… the way I see it, I can read any time, but I really like to take advantage of all the readers brought together with events like this and meet some new people. Considering how busy I was this week outside of reading/blogging, I’m glad I was able to participate as much as I was.

  3. It’s always disappointing when a book doesn’t live up to your expectations. That just makes it even harder to try to read them in an alloted time. At least you had fun with the twitter chats (I missed those) and the challenges.

    • It’s true, other than Bout of Books pushing me on, I had no motivation to get through my last book. I was a little more interested in reading my first one just because I’d been looking forward to it so much, I was hoping that something in the end would pull it all together for me. Oh well. There’s always another book.

  4. Great job, despite the lack of good reading! My reads were not all that exciting either, but I did enjoy my first Bout of Books. I will hopefully be participating in 9.0!

  5. Congrats on making it through the read-a-thon! Good to see your thoughts on Bellman and Black. I also loved The Thirteenth Tale, so it’s good to know that I should moderate my expectations before starting Bellman.

    • Yes, they’re really completely different books. I hope you enjoy it more than I did. Just prepare yourself for a rather slow-paced, character-driven story. Thanks for stopping by!

    • I adore The Thirteenth Tale. A book about book-lovers, an old woman with a mysterious past, a young woman with her own demons… there’s something just magical about it to me, and it all comes together perfectly. But… I probably shouldn’t hype it up so much. Thanks for reading!

  6. This was my first bout of books readathon. And it went quite good.
    I like the fact that you did mini reviews in your wrap-up. I have so many books I want to have to review. Lol. Plus, like your blog setting. Thanks for stopping by my book blog.

  7. Great job! I’m sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy all three of your books – there’s nothing more disappointing than that! But three books read in a week is good going, so I definitely say you had a successful week! :)

    • It was a bit of a struggle to get through them. Next time I might actually do all re-reads so I can be sure I’m reading things I’ll love… then again, it’ll be the beginning of the year and I’ll be wanting to get a jump on my goals for the year, so… maybe not. Thanks for reading!

  8. At least you finished the last book, that’s a success, too! You did great. And I’m glad the social aspect was fun for you, too.

    • Yes, I always love the social side of blog events. The read-a-thon is a nice push for reading, but I read all the time anyway.

  9. It’s good to hear that although you didn’t have the best of luck with your book choices, you still had a great time. The social aspect of Bout of Books is one of my favourite parts. I didn’t take part in any of the Twitter chats this time around, but they are organised chaos and you get to meet some really neat people.

    • Connecting with other bloggers is my favorite part of Bout of Books, while the reading is more just something I do by default. It’s nice to have a push to get more done than usual, but honestly I’d rather spend the extra time chatting!

  10. I thought I would be disappointed with Bellman & Black even if I hadn’t read The Thirteenth Tale. It just wasn’t a good book. I will still read the next book she puts out though if she writes another.

    • Oh, I’ll absolutely keep reading her. It makes me very glad I’d read The Thirteenth Tale before reading this, because if this was the first thing of hers I’d written, I might not ever give her another try. But I’m sure I’ll read anything she puts out. Thanks for stopping by!

Comments are closed.