9 comments on “Six Degrees of Separation

  1. Fabulous! Though I immensely disliked ‘Rebecca’ myself (though I love the movie so much! I just couldn’t take one more sentence about the rhodenderons at Manderlay :) )

    I usually do the meme even if I know nothing about the starting book… it’s still fun. Don’t be scared. :)

    • I’ve never seen the movie, so I can’t compare. My husband didn’t like it, though; he seemed surprised when I talked about how much I enjoyed the book.

  2. I really liked The Eye of the Needle as well – I read it last year! And – 11/22/63 is one of my all-time favorite books…despite the time travel (which I usually hate). And – I’m not normally a Stephen King fan either…he overcame all these things to make me love 11/22/63.

    I like that you posted this late..I was intimidated by this one and missed the posting day, but now that I’ve seen other people’s posts, I might do a late one myself :)

    • That’s sort of how I felt about The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society. It had a lot for me to overcome. I’m not big on historical fiction, I wasn’t sure about the epistolary format, plus it was just so hyped up… but I ended up loving it.

  3. YAY! There is SO MUCH I love on this chain. I mean, I love every single thing except for that Ken Follett book, but that’s likely only because I haven’t read it.

  4. I enjoyed The 13th Tale and have Bellman & Black to read yet. I also enjoyed Pillars of the Earth, but felt that World Without End just rehashed the stories told in Pillars in a different time period. I couldn’t get into Attachments, but am right there with you on Still Alice and 11/22/63.

    Terri M., the Director
    Second Run Reviews

    • I haven’t read Follett’s historical fiction. I remember thinking it was really weird that this author who I came across because of his thrillers also wrote in such a different genre, but after reading how he handled the historical context in Eye of the Needle, it makes perfect sense.

Comments are closed.