22 comments on “Review: The Martian

  1. I completely understand… the idea of being out in space, completely dependent on man-made technology to survive, freaks me out enough without adding in the “completely alone and abandoned on Mars” twist. I would probably be obsessing about my near future state in all sorts of unhelpful ways, like wondering how exactly I would die, how much it would hurt, etc. If I ever need to stay awake all night for some reason I will know what book to read. Thanks for the review!

    • My thing about space isn’t even a “we need technology to survive” thing. It’s just… too big. I think studying the cosmos is fascinating, but I can’t think about it too hard or I just feel like the universe is going to swallow me up. If I were in Mark’s place I would have the panic attack of all panic attacks. (Of course, that fear would prevent me from every being in his position in the first place.)

  2. I listened to The Martian on audio and thought it was excellent. Probably one of the most surprising, instantly hooked first lines that I’ve ever read/heard. I’m glad you enjoyed it too :) I’m probably going to watch the movie when it comes out because of pure curiosity. The idea of going into space scares me a bit but I don’t mind watching it. Gravity was just pretty cool, although in 3D it was a bit unnerving.

  3. Yay, glad you liked it! I thought it was one of the best books of the year, and I’m excited for a movie version, though skeptical. I think Matt Damon is going to play Mark? Maybe that’s just a rumor, but it doesn’t seem like a good casting choice. We’ll see, I could be wrong.

    • He wouldn’t have been my first choice, but I’ll reserve judgment until I see some trailers or something. I’d be more worried that the “powers that be” turn it more into a straight drama. But I think if it’s a good script that keeps the tone of the book, he could do a good job with it.

  4. I would need the humor to get through the anxiety! I agree…I can read books like this but not watch the movie. Gravity would be horror for me as well. This book has had many good reviews and yours adds to my likelihood to read it.

    • I really thought it was a good balance. I definitely felt the anxiety (maybe more than other readers might) but the humor kept me from getting too freaked out.

  5. I hadn’t heard anything about a movie version until after I’d finished the book (and loved it!) — so I’m a little befuddled now trying to make the casting match up with the images in my head. Oh well. I can’t imagine how the movie will capture Mark’s humor and inner dialogue without getting totally cheesy with too many voice-overs, though. Anyway, glad to hear you enjoyed it!

    • Yeah, the more I think about the movie the more curious about it I am. I don’t know how, exactly, but I really hope they keep that humor. I’m kind of worried though that they’ll just use the plot but turn it into something like Apollo 13.

  6. I totally agree with you on space – Star Trek is fun to watch, but if I could be in their reality, I think I’ll just stay on Earth thanks. This is a book that would scare me too, but it sounds so interesting and finding out how the astronaut could possibly survive would be very interesting to read. And your review makes it sound like such a suspenseful read.

Comments are closed.