24 comments on “Book Math According to Joe Hill

  1. Fascinating! I don’t think I should even try to calculate this though because audiobooks would throw my numbers off completely, though I guess I could just do it for print books? I am curious, so if I have some random time with nothing to do, I just may try the math…

  2. I’ll have to look back at the past couple of years and then check this year out when I’m done. I already know that it will be pretty close, though. This is very interesting, indeed.

  3. That is INTERESTING. And I can see how that’s true… if I stuck to my goal of reading 100 pages a day at least (which is a rarity now), then probably would actually make it closer to 100 books. This year I know my number is WAY lower because work has kept me so busy… I think I’ve read about 85 books or so, but at least a third of those are comics/graphic novels, so that’s not saying much.

    My goal for 2015: BE BETTER AT KEEPING STATS.

    • Yeah, if that’s the majority of your reading, the numbers probably aren’t going to work out. This whole thing relies on the fact that the average number of pages in a book is close to the number of days in a year. I don’t know about graphic novels, but I would imagine comics (unless maybe you’re reading a bound collection) are way lower than that.

  4. Wow, it works out pretty accurately.
    Like you I used my Goodreads page stats which aren’t entirely accurate but my average pages read per day came out at 248 and so far this year I have read 246 books.
    And last years average of 289 was just a little off as I read 292 books

  5. That’s fascinating!! I’m going to track this next year when I have a full year of Goodreads record keeping to rely on. I didn’t really get serious about updating my Goodreads account until partway through this year and I’m not going to go back and manually figure it out based on my spreadsheet (which doesn’t include page numbers).
    Great post – thanks for sharing!

      • It worked out exactly for me for one of the past three years, but the other too were way off. It has to do with the length of the books… so I think the years where I binged on graphic novels, my ratios ended up not lining up. Number nerds unite!

  6. Math = Torture, ha ha. I did see a few of you tweeting about this and I’ve been thinking about it since. Not enough to actually go do the math though! Super interesting and I never would have thought about it this way before.

  7. I love it!
    here are mine:
    2011 = 99 books
    that is: 83 in print = 64 p/day
    and 16 audio = 31 mn/day

    2012 = 106 books
    that is: 106 in print = 57 p/day
    and 17 audio = 31 mn/day

    2013= 104 books
    that is: 86 in print = 68 p/day
    and 18 audio = 33 mn/day

    so far I have read 91. I’m aiming for 105, but maybe a bit under.
    at the end of Oct my average day was over 70p/day though
    12 are audio, I should be able to listen to 2 more, maybe 3.
    some of my audio have been very long this year, and looks like my average listening is going to be much higher than my usual 30 mn

    I love stats and do a major post for this at the end of the year, with lots of graphs with stats on time, but also format, genre, source, etc. If you want to see what my 2013 was: http://wordsandpeace.com/2014/01/03/year-of-reading-2013-part-1/

  8. so I forgot then to conclude that I disagree with him: for instance in 2012 = 89 books for 57 p/day
    only 86 books the following year BUT 10 pages more per day, which is really a huge increase over a year. The explanation is here I read much longer books, especially tackling Proust In Search of Lost Time

    • If you read mostly longer books or mostly shorter books, the numbers won’t work out… but I guess the idea is that if you read a good mix, it will average out in the end. (But if you read mostly longer works… then your pages per day should be higher than your total number of books, no?)

Comments are closed.