29 comments on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books I Want to Re-Read

  1. Great list! There were plenty on it that are new to me, that I might check out. I have Stephen King on my list, too, but I put down The Dark Tower series. I did love Doctor Sleep, though! Might need to reread those together someday. My TTT.

    • I’ve not yet read the Dark Tower series. It’s just so much more intimidating than picking up a single book. Thanks for stopping by!

  2. Still Alice, the Night Circus and the Stephen Kings are on my to read for the first time list! I don’t typically reread books so my lost is full of my favorites and classics I didn’t finish the first time around.

      • I’ve heard many people that liked the Stand so hope you do too. I had started 11/22/63 for the October Readathons (my first Stephen King) but I didn’t finish it…yet. Got distracted by other books to review. Need to get back to it.

  3. I’m not a re-reader, but I wish I were. There are tons of my favorite books I’d like to revisit to see if they still have that magic that put it on my favorite list to begin with.

    I just won a copy of The Night Circus and hopefully I’ll get it read soon!

  4. I did a re-read/listen of Ready Player One for a book club meeting (that seems to be the only time I re-read books) and it is SO much better on audio than paper. Definitely give it a listen.

    I feel the same way as you do about The Stand. It was my first King and ever since reading it, it falls lower and lower on my list of favorites by him. I keep thinking I must have missed something!

    • I find it highly unlikely I’ll like it better in audio. I’m just hoping I’ll be able to get through it. 15+ hours is a long time to hold my attention.

  5. I want to re-read/listen to Ready Player One for the audiobook too! Same goes for The Ocean at the End of the Lane – I want to hear Neil Gaiman read it!

    • Yes, so overwhelming! That’s why I think I’ll like it better. I still don’t think it’ll be a new favorite, but I definitely want to give it that second chance.

  6. I am a re-reader, but I’ve only just recently made time for it again since I’ve been on a bit of a blog break — I almost forgot how much I love revisiting old favorites! Re-reading is definitely good for times of distraction and limited brain capacity though :) I’m currently working my way through the Outlander series which is a BEAST, but I get so lost in it I almost forget how long they are. I need to read other things too because it would make me sad to only read one author for weeks on end.

    I hope you like Ready Player One on audio — Audio isn’t for everyone, but sometimes all it really takes is figuring out what kind of books work for you on audio, so I hope that one does the trick!

    • Audio books just take SO long to get through, and I’m not good at multitasking, so this is basically going to be me sitting and listening… you know, like they used to do with the radio in the old days. Otherwise I’ll keep tuning it out and having to go back to hear what I missed.

    • I doubt it’ll suddenly turn me into an audiobook fan (the format just doesn’t work for me) but I’m definitely willing to give this one a shot.

  7. The Death Gate Cycle is one of my favorite series. I’m actually supposed to be rereading it with a friend right now, but haven’t started yet. I’m looking forward to it.

    • Funny, they were some of my husband’s favorites (which is why I read them in the first place) but not a series I see mentioned in the book blogging world. Then again, I don’t read any fantasy-centric blogs.

  8. I am definitely a re-reader, but a very picky one. But when it comes to my best-of-the-best books, I’m happy to go back and re-read, over and over again. The Stand is on my list this week too. I read it so long ago and barely remember it — need to fix that. :)

    • I’ll re-read for lots of reasons. Obviously my best-of-the-best books, but also I have to re-read previous books in a series when a new one is released (on those occasions I break my rule and start a series before it’s complete), and sometimes I’ll just re-read out of curiosity if I’ll still feel the same about a book… good or bad.

  9. I adore The Night Circus… I re-read books all the time; I find it very comforting at certain stressful times! I’ve read Jane Austen’s six novels more times than I can count, and also the Harry Potter books, the Betsy-Tacy books, and the list goes on and on. I’m kind of crazy that way.

    • I got really burnt out on re-reading several years ago, before I discovered the “bookternet” and didn’t have a clue on what else I should read (and was too socially impaired to ask a librarian for suggestions) so I just re-read the books I already had. I don’t think I’ll ever re-read quite that much again, but I wish I made more time for it than I do now.

  10. I am one of those that loved The Stand the first time around. When I re-read it a few years ago, I loved it even more!

    I loved Feed and hope to re-read that whole series one of these days. It is honestly one of my favorite trilogies!

    And, I think I need to re-read The Night Circus too. That was a fun one!

    • I think it was just too much for me. It was one of the first King books I read, and there were so many characters, and it was so overwhelming. It wasn’t until I read Misery that I really started to appreciate his writing and his characterization. I think I’d like The Stand a lot more now. Still not sure if it would be a new favorite, but I feel like I owe it the chance.

Comments are closed.