20 comments on “My 8-Hour Dewey Read-a-Thon

  1. I’m definitely participating. I’m sorry that cutting into your sleep last time had bad affects. I’m a night owl anyways, and can and do regularly stay up all night when I feel like it, so I’m doing the whole 24 hours again. My hubby has the weekend off so he’s marathon-ing horror movies, and is going to TRY to stay up with me, but I think he’ll crash before 2am. :)

    I hope you have fun!

    • Yeah, I can adjust to being a morning person or a night person… but not both at once. I need my sleep! Even as a college student I was never good at the all-nighters.

    • Yes! Glad to hear my plan is officially RAT-sanctioned! ;)

      Funny thing is, I have no trouble doing my own thing when it comes to longer events, but for some reason when I hear “24-hour read-a-thon,” it takes much more effort to say, “Nope, that’s not going to work.”

  2. I think it’s a great plan. I was signed up, but with a year old at home, it’s going to be impossible for me to participate this time. Instead I’ll cheer everyone on and enjoy reading their updates all day!

    Not doing the posts and just reading sounds great, and I was planning on doing the same thing. I was just going to post an AM update and a PM update and not do any challenges.

    And I love your TBR pile! Hope you have fun and enjoy them. :)

    • I do like the social part, but I think keeping it limited to one outlet is going to work a lot better than trying to split time between reading, Twitter, and the blog.

  3. Love your book choices :D I’m not participating in this readathon because I’m doing a different one that starts on Friday and goes for a week, but I’ll be cheering you on from the sidelines!

    • I’m more a fan of week-long events myself, but I am glad I finally gave Dewey a try. It’s a completely different experience, but it’s a lot of fun!

  4. This is a great plan!! I don’t like being on the computer a ton during the readathon – challenges and blog hopping can easily take up an hour or two at a time. Twitter is a good idea.

    This is my first time having a days off before AND after the readathon, so I am considering trying my hardest to stay awake the full 24-hours… just to say that I did it, once. And then never do it again.

    • I can totally see the appeal of that. I might have attempted it at some point if not for my experience last year. Of course, part of the problem is that I wasn’t planning on staying up all night, it just sort of happened. If I were better prepared, I might not have been quite so miserable afterward. Good luck if you do try it!

  5. I wish I could participate, but I have a 3 and 1 yr old at home and there’s just no way! But, I love your low-key approach and, when the time comes that I can participate, I think I’ll do it your way!

  6. I think the best part about these readathons is that there is no pressure to do anything that won’t work for you! That’s why I typically set pretty manageable goals for myself whenever I do participate. It sounds like you know how to make the readathon fun and doable this time around! I’ll be cheering you all on even though I’m not participating! :)

    • I’m really good about manageable goals for Bout of Books, but Dewey has long been a struggle for me. It wasn’t until last spring that I finally participated; the idea of 24 hours was just too intimidating. But I’m glad I finally did!

  7. I’m not participating in the read-a-thon, but I love that you’re making this your own and sort of learning from your last participation in this event. I think the fact that you’re actually going to a library is dedication (though I guess I would say that as I haven’t been to a library in… who knows how long). And I love that you’re rereading some childhood stories! I think something like this is one of the best times to do some rereading! Hope you enjoy :)

  8. Low key is the best kind of key in my opinion ;-). The first time I heard about Dewey’s, I wanted to try, but then realized that Saturdays are not a good day for me to try to read a crazy amount since that’s when the boy wants to hang out. Therefore, I’ve given up on this one since it just doesn’t fit my life these days, but someday I want to try again! Good luck and have fun :D

    • That’s the problem with one-day events, and why I prefer longer read-a-thons. The last couple Dewey ones have worked out for my schedule, but if it doesn’t, well, that’s that. A longer event is a lot easier to work around real life.

Comments are closed.