15 comments on “Bookish (and not so bookish) Thoughts – #32

    • It’s a stubborn one. After a couple days I thought I was over the worst of it, but then it reared its ugly head again. Hopefully I’m nearing the end.

  1. I’m not sure exactly how short you mean, but I have to say I’ve cut my hair short twice over the past years and it was a really nice change, even though I’m liking longer lately. And yes it grows back — quicker than I ever would have expected actually. The in-between-growing-it-back-in stage (if you decide to go back long) isn’t really fun, but it doesn’t last forever. I pretty much had to talk my hairdresser into it both times I went short though — she kept trying to tell me, very dramatically, that I was going to be “practically bald!” which was quite an over-exaggeration. And every time I went in for a trim (which I needed much more often to maintain a short style), I would have to keep telling her to cut more (“however short you think it should be, just go a little shorter than that” was my standard line). I’ve literally been getting my hair cut by the same woman since I was 3 years old though so she’ll always tell me what she really thinks, but at the same time, she’s always had really thick, (gorgeous) long hair so seemed to have a bit of a personal bias against short. Not sure she gave all her clients such a hard time, but I think they are always a little afraid you’re not going to like a dramatic change and blame them for it. She has never once given me a bad cut though, so I knew I could trust her to give me a good style no matter what. The one time I had grown it long enough to do Locks of Love, so that was a lot of hair she was cutting off.

    Needless to say, I say go for it! Then you will know for sure if you like it or not — no other way to figure it out!

    • Well, I’d been growing mine out for my brother’s wedding. It got to just past my shoulders, and I got maybe 4″ taken off. So it’s short… but not as short as I’d like. I really just need to do more research and go in with some pictures. Because I really don’t know specifically what I want… and that’s why I let them talk me out of it. What I would really love is a long-ish pixie. Like… not Emma Watson short, but still short.

  2. Do it. Get that short haircut. I was always worried about it, too, but now that I’ve done it, I’ll never have long hair again. Never. It took a few different cuts to get the one I really LOVE, but it was so worth it. I say go for it–like you said, it will grow out if you end up not liking it.

    • I just grew mine to just past my shoulders, and that felt so long to me! I’ve had short (like chin-length) for a couple years now, and especially after giving long(ish) another try, I really don’t think I’ll ever want to go back… but I’d like to go even shorter. But not knowing exactly what I want makes it tough to communicate.

      • Look for photos that are similar to what you want. When I got mine cut, I brought three different photos with me–each was close, but not exact. Then we just went from there. It took three haircuts for us to get it just right, but it was worth it.

  3. If my hair guy had tried to talk me out of cutting my hair short, I’d absolutely have chickened out. But I’ve really enjoyed having it short. Go for it if you want to try something new! (Have a glass of wine before you go. That’ll make you brave. :p)

    • I do like the style that I sort of settled on before I grew it out again… but there’s this voice that’s always telling me to go even shorter, and unless I do it and see that it doesn’t work, that voice is just never going to shut up.

  4. I’d just for for it anyway. So what if you hate it, you know it will grow out and there is always hats! I’ve had both long hair and short hair at various times in my life and I personally prefer it on the longer side as it’s just more versatile. If you’ve never had short hair though, it would be fun to try it out.

    • My hair is just too thick that I can’t do long anymore. Even just shoulder length was driving me crazy. It takes forever to wash, even longer to dry, all so I can pull it into a ponytail nine times out of ten? No, thanks. I’m definitely committed to short… it’s just a matter of how short.

  5. I’m ALWAYS in more of a comedy mood, even when there are other, cooler things I want to watch.

    Re: your hair – Doooooo it! If for no other reason than it sucks that these ladies keep talking you out of it when it seems like something you totally want to try. Like you said, it’ll grow back if you don’t like it.

    • Yeah, it’s not that I don’t want to watch TNG (or a million other things in my Netflix queue), it’s just… I like short and funny. Even if I end up sitting there for three hours, it feels like less of a commitment to watch a 22-minute show rather than a 45-minute one.

Comments are closed.