10 comments on “August Mini-Reviews

  1. I agree that the Gone Girl ending was weak. Luckily, it was rewritten for the movie, so there’s something to look forward too. Do you think you’ll go see it?

    • I probably won’t go to the theater, but I’ll probably see it once it comes to video. If I don’t read spoilers and lose interest before then, that is. Thanks for stopping by!

  2. I’ve been eyeing The Martian for quite a while now. It’s good to hear that humor makes up for the dry science because I get a little sleepy when it comes to dry science.

    • I really liked it. The main character is so fun… but at the same time, you have no idea how his story is going to end, so there’s definitely a sense of urgency. I’ve heard some people say the humor takes away from that, but honestly, I think it’d be way too dark otherwise.

  3. Eeeee The Martian! Loved it. And I’m glad the third All Souls book is an improvement on the second – I really need to read that soon. (Well, honestly I would probably need to re-read the first two books, but ehhh. I think I’ll just dive right in.)

    • I had to re-read the second because I really couldn’t remember a thing about it. And if I was going to read that, I knew I’d better start with the first book so I could remind myself why I fell in love with the series in the first place.

  4. I came across Oranges aren’t the only fruit a couple of times as well but haven’t read it. I guess, I shouldn’t put it too high up on my priority list.

    • I just couldn’t get into it at all. But at least in the beginning, it was just a lot of “this is what life was like” sort of stuff, and that’s usually not the sort of thing that grabs me.

Comments are closed.