8 comments on “Bookish (and not so bookish) Thoughts – #31

  1. I’m glad Gone Girl was better than you expected even of you didn’t love it. I’m so curious to see how the movie will go too.

    Congrats on your 500th book. When did you start tracking? I really wish I had a record of every book I read prior to Jan 2013 (date I joined GR).

    • After taking a long break from reading throughout high school and most of college, I didn’t start reading again until 2005. I didn’t join GR until April 2009, but luckily I knew the few books I read in those years in between. So my list doesn’t count anything I read as a kid (unless I later re-read it), but other than that it’s pretty complete.

  2. Gone Girl is the book I love to hate. It gets me so riled up! :) I’ve been devouring the trailers and can’t wait till it hits the cheap theatre close to my home in the late winter. The trailers have been delightfully creepy.

    • I put it off for a long time because I’m not a fan of the author, but the buzz about the movie (specifically, hearing rumors that they’ve changed the ending) got me curious enough to finally read it.

  3. I am curious about the movie Gone Girl because I heard the author is rewriting the ending for it. I’m wondering if she’s going to give everyone the ending they expected.

    • I’d heard that too, and that’s part of the reason I did want to read the book (although I suppose a Wikipedia summary could have done the trick).

    • Yes! And it’s kind of funny how torn I am on being in the wedding. It was my first time (other than my own, obviously) and I almost felt like the stress of it took away from the excitement of it. I realized the morning of that every time I’d seen my brother or sister-in-law in the days leading up to it, we were hammering out details. I never took the time to say, “You’re getting married tomorrow!” All of that only came later at the reception.

      Obviously I was happy to be a part of their special day, and I doubt I’d ever turn down anyone who asked me to be in another wedding… but it’s definitely a different perspective from just going and celebrating.

Comments are closed.