7 comments on “ITW Must-Reads: The Spy Who Came in from the Cold

  1. I find it hard to get into a John le Carre novel, so I’m not surprised to read your review. I wish I could appreciate it more since he seems to write great novels, but oh well, it’s just not for me either.

  2. Since I saw the movie, I’ve been wanting to read Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy; haven’t got around to it yet, but one of these days.

    I did consider starting with The Spy Who…, since it’s the first George Smiley book and would introduce all the characters from scratch, but I’m not the most patient reader, so I’ll probably just read T2S2 (hee…just made up that abbreviation) and decide if I like the story & characters enough to try the previous books.

    • Well, George Smiley plays only a small role in this one… not an insignificant one, but he doesn’t get a lot of page time. I don’t know which other characters might carry over. Hopefully you’ll like le Carré more than I did.

      • Initially, I wanted to try the book so I could better understand Peter Guillam’s (*cough*BenedictCumberbatch*cough*) backstory, but it would certainly help with other parts of the story, too :-)

    • Thank you! I don’t really feel like I’ve made that much of a dent… but I guess the numbers don’t lie. (I’d read a few of them before I started blogging, but still.)

Comments are closed.