10 comments on “Bookish (and not so bookish) Thoughts – #30

  1. I have the same hat/love relationship with NetGalley and EW. I selfishly request books mostly because then I don’t have to pay for them! (And I do review them…only once I didn’t.) But then I end up loaded on reviews and feeling the same as you…there’s already so much to read without the ones not out yet. Ugh.

    • I’ve never really gotten out of control with it, and I do like peeking at some of the small press books that I know my library would never have… but at the same time, I have so much I want to read that I really don’t need to go looking for more.

  2. I love love loved that post by The Bloggess, and i’m glad you remembered the date of Mira Grant’s zombie apocalypse. Now I want to re-read FEED!

    • I probably wouldn’t have given it any thought if I hadn’t also read the novella, San Diego 2014… the title makes it pretty memorable.

  3. I’m doing similar with Netgalley! I love it…but, I read on my iPod, which is TINY and I find the screen frustrates me so so much and I must prefer physicals. So I sneak around my library mores these days. ;) It’s also about a month until my brother has his wedding too!! We’re doing some insane cross-country travel for it, which’ll probably be pretty stressful. Hehe. Sounds like August/September is the time to get married, right?!
    Thanks for stopping by @ Notebook Sisters!

    • I only have to travel three hours, so the travel isn’t so bad, but it’s definitely the most involved I’ve been in a wedding since my own. I’m probably stressing about it more than I need to. Thanks for reading!

  4. I’m seriously considering taking a big step back from review copies — it’s kind of hard to break the habit of checking my usual *sources,* but I think it will be better for my reading in the long run. I have a backlog of goodies, but I’m realllllly trying not to add any more to it going forward.

    • Yup. Some people go on book buying bans… but since I don’t actually buy books, I just have this virtual list that keeps getting longer and longer, I have to come up with more creative ways to slow that down so I can play catch up.

  5. I have never managed to stick with language learning for very long. I think the key must be having a speaking partner. Don’t you think? Someone who can hold you accountable AND have conversations with you? But I can never convince anybody to learn a language with me.

    • I’m pretty self-motivated, so I don’t know if learning with a partner would be for me. Right now I’m just waiting for my enthusiasm to come back around again. But I think if I were learning with someone, I’d just be annoyed at having to power through when I wasn’t feeling it… and then I might never come out of my funk.

Comments are closed.