12 comments on “We Hold These Truths to Be Self-Evident…

    • It’s not that I dislike the holiday… I just don’t get excited about it. I’m not big on crowds or festivals. I usually go with people to watch the fireworks, but I’m not as “wowed” by them as everyone else. This was the first year in a while that we just skipped them. I hope you had a good holiday!

  1. The only thing I really LIKE about the 4th is the fireworks, but we didn’t bother going either. We just hung out with friends and drank and watched the first new Star Trek movie, but that’s basically what we do every Friday :-p

    • Ooh, I love that movie! That really got me wanting to get into Star Trek… since then I’ve watched the entire original series and all the old movies with the original cast. Next up: The Next Generation!

  2. We don’t celebrate the 4th, either, for a few reasons. But we had a nice day just hanging around the house. :)

    • It’s nice to have a day off, no matter the reason! My trouble comes when I forget that it’s a holiday. That actually happened to us on Easter this year… we’d just been visiting family the week before, so we decided not to go anywhere or do anything for it. Unfortunately we forgot that it wasn’t just another Sunday and that everything was closed!

  3. We took a short road trip to MN to see family and attend a Twins game. Today we are just relaxing and catching up on sleep before heading to work.

  4. We don’t normally do much for the 4th. I ended up watching some old Schoolhouse Rock videos with the kiddo, just to get her acquainted with what the big deal is. We do love the fireworks! :)

    • I like the big ones that you can feel in your chest. And the past several years I’ve started wearing sunglasses to the shows, and that helps a lot (though I still feel ridiculous). But overall I could take or leave them… this year I left them, and didn’t really feel like I was missing anything. That’s great you had a good day with your daughter though!

  5. I don’t have any ideological problem with the 4th of July, but we never celebrated it when I was a kid (we were always on the road that time of year, heading up to Maine for vacation). So I don’t really get excited about it either. I celebrated this year by falling crazy crazy in love with Maggie Stiefvater’s Raven Boys books.

    • As much as I really don’t care about the fireworks, I will say it is pretty cool traveling on the night of the 4th, because it’s fun to see the different shows from a distance while driving down the highway.

Comments are closed.