4 comments on “Review: The Cure

  1. Enjoyed your review! Interesting that you thought about putting the book down not once, but twice. I think I probably wouldn’t have read past the prologue, so you’re made of sterner stuff than I am! I’m not really sure that prologues add anything to the story, and I know a few people who won’t even read them. I sometimes go back and reread the prologue after I’ve finished a book to see if it makes any more sense, but I’m tempted to skip them altogether. I don’t like too much violence in my books, so don’t think this one is for me. I do love it when a story surprises me though, as so many seem to be following the same formula nowadays.

    Terri @ Alexia’s Books and Such…

    • When a specific event or twist turns me off, I’ll usually try to power through it. It’s when the book is either continually bugging me, or even just not engaging me, that I give up on “but it might get better.” The other thing is that the two things that made me think about DNF’ing weren’t in any way related, so it wasn’t like, “ugh, this again…”

  2. I have that problem with books all the time! It’s not that I don’t like them, I just can’t figure out how to talk about them!

    I’m glad you liked this one, especially since you almost put it down twice! Erin sounds interesting, and I am usually interested in psychopaths. I might have to try this one out!

    • My original review went in a completely different direction, and finally I decided that would be better as a discussion post… but I still wanted to talk about the book, so I was frantically revamping this one Monday morning.

Comments are closed.