34 comments on “Armchair BEA – Why We Write (Topic of Choice)

  1. I’d say that I first started my blog just so that I would have a place to keep track of my thoughts about the books I read. But I definitely have realized how much fun it is to interact with everyone else in the book blog community. Even if I’m not getting many comments on my blog, I love to read the comments on other people’s blogs and participate when I can!

    • I definitely started out for myself too. But the more you put into your blog, the more you want to get out of it. If I were just writing my thoughts for myself, it wouldn’t take nearly as much effort as maintaining a blog does… and it’s the interaction that really makes it worth it. Thanks for stopping by!

  2. I started my blog for the same reason as the first commenter said – as a way to keep track of my thoughts on books, but having these conversations with other readers definitely keeps me going. I don’t know if I would have continued with my blog otherwise actually – the interaction keeps me motivated to continue which I love.

    • Yup. I’m not sure at what point that shift happens. Maybe when we first start getting comments… because when we’re starting out, we really are just shouting into a void… but in the hopes that it won’t always be a void.

  3. I’ve mentioned it on my blog before, but I started my blog as a way to share my monthly reading log for a swap for another site. I never thought I’d have followers! It’s only a couple, but still, people actually read what I say and I find that pretty amazing. But in the end, it’s still about me. Right now, I don’t care about my numbers or if anyone does or doesn’t follow me. I take part in things like Armchair Bea to see what else is going on out there, and I do like the few comments that I get when I link up to things.

    And I do like the blogs that ask questions to have a little give and take. Those are the fun ones. The ones that don’t ask anything or want others opinions are blogs I end up not visiting again.

    • Yeah, those are the blogs that turn me off too. Like I said, it’s too much like speaking from a podium and assuming you have an attentive audience. I like the conversation, and I want to visit other bloggers who do too.

  4. I suppose I blog for the same reason now that I did when I began in 2002: Because it exists. For me, a blog is a wonderful publishing platform where I can write and publish whenever I want about any old subject that catches my fancy. I write to work out ideas and thoughts and to gain clarity as often as I write to share information or experiences or things I’ve learned along the way. If a conversation results, all the better.

    • I guess there is a certain “because I can” aspect to it. Why not put it out there? For me, though, if I weren’t getting anything in return, I’d rather just keep my writing to myself… and know I’m the only one reading it instead of just assuming.

  5. Don’t get me wrong. I love and appreciate comments. But they don’t always come along often. Part of that may be me, though. I tend to be a major introvert and so I may not be as good at engaging my readers and getting them to come out of their shelf. Or, perhaps I just attract more introverts. I do have more interaction on Twitter and in Goodreads groups and commenting is more minimalistic on the blog. Maybe that will change. I have been at this over 2 years. Who knows. Anything is possible, right? But I see the follower count so I know at least someone is reading what I have to say, so I don’t feel like I am talking to myself so much, even without comments. Then again, I am probably just weird like that.

    Lisa @Just Another Rabid Reader

    • In real life I’m an introvert and have social anxiety, so online I’m able to get the interaction that I shy away from in real life. Maybe that’s why the interaction is so important to me. I spend half my time wishing I could make myself invisible, so online, I want to make sure I’m not. Or something. (I’m too tired to try getting all psychoanalytical.)

      • I totally get it. I am agoraphobic and family suspects I may have undiagnosed Asperger’s syndrome. I don’t do people. It’s why I don’t ever go to book events, I can’t handle the crowds.

  6. I love your thoughts. I do say that I blog for myself and not about the numbers. When I first started blogging almost 7 years ago, though, I did blog for the conversation and interaction. I was always depressed when no one commented. However, I’ve learned not to care over those years. I do get more comments than I did when I first started out, but I still don’t get a lot. And, yes, while I do love the conversion and interaction, it truly isn’t my motivation anymore. Great post. Very thought-provoking. :D

    • Well, my blog is just over a year old, so maybe seven years from now I’ll feel differently. Though I have been blogging for that long, but until this one I wasn’t very active in the community, much more of a lurker myself. Which is why I totally get the people who read but never comment, because I used to be one!

  7. I love the conversation. When I’m not getting enough at my own blog, I like that I can go find one on someone else’s blog. Like this one! thanks for getting us going!

    • Yes, it doesn’t all have to be on my own blog. I love conversations in the comments of other blogs, and I love chatting on Twitter. But if I felt like I was always giving and never getting anything back, I think it would start to take its toll. It’s a labor of love, yes… but it can still be draining.

  8. I wanted other people to talk with about the books I have read, and even the ones I haven’t yet. And, you’re right, if I hadn’t eventually gotten a few people reading my blog, it would have been too much time taken away from my reading to make any sense continuing. I’m so happy I was able to find a group of blogging friends.

    • Yeah, book blogging is definitely a balancing act. It’s not just splitting time between two different hobbies because those hobbies feed off each other. If one isn’t as rewarding as the other, it’s just not going to work.

  9. I started blogging because no one in my real life wanted to hear me talk about books…on and on and on about books! ;) Now that I’ve been at it for a while my reasons haven’t changed a whole lot! I still need and thrive in this community.

    • It seems like that’s true for a lot of us… not many readers in our real lives. Thankfully we have the internet to bring us all together!

  10. I started blogging because I got tired of my hubby just nodding and not listening to me about the books I was reading. I needed a way to get all the thoughts that were going on in my head. I still pretty much write for me. But I love being a part of a community that loves books as much as I do.

    • That’s the perfect way to put it… I have too many thoughts in my head and they have to come out somehow! Thanks for stopping by!

  11. Having an audience does add purpose, but I wrote for years in my personal journal. I wrote about things that I did, short stories, the way I saw the simplest things like the details of a beautiful tree. I wrote about anything and everything with no concern of an audience. Oh, those days were good. I should work on getting a little of that back.

    • I’ve done that. I would probably still do that, if I didn’t have a blog. I can’t imagine not writing at all. Thanks for stopping by!

  12. With so many book blogs, I can be overwhelmed and sometimes visit without commenting — even these days, when I feel more a part of the community of book bloggers. I’m surprised to hear you’ve only been blogging for a year! I’d say you’re definitely not shouting into the void!

    • There are definitely days I just don’t have any comments in me. I also used to be a hardcore lurker, so I’m definitely not saying that I expect everyone to comment on everything all the time. But it’s just nice to get that feedback. If it’s not here, it’s somewhere else. But the community is definitely what makes blogging worth it for me. Not the writing – that I do for me – but the blogging and everything else that goes along with it.

  13. Writing is cathartic. As well as getting all those pent-up thoughts out into the open, it lets loose trapped emotions and gives me a chance to let off steam without scalding anyone. Reading other people’s blogs is like taking part in a huge conversation with everyone popping in and sharing the moment; the comments are a bonus and part of the fun.

    • That’s what I love about Twitter, too… it’s just a big conversation and anyone can jump in and join in the fun.

  14. Such a good topic. I think I said it somewhere else recently – but you’re right. Blogging is a time intensive hobby and I blog to create. When someone who knits gives away their scarf or whatever – they’re effectively sharing something with the larger community, same thing with people who craft for hobbies, so while it’s definitely not about the numbers – I do find satisfaction (to a certain extent) in them because I know that my ‘creation’ is getting out there and being seen and (hopefully) appreciated.

    • Exactly. Writing is something I would do for myself anyway, but blogging is so much more than that. And there is some satisfaction in having my own space here, having creative control over what it looks like, how it’s organized, and so on… but it would be hard to put so much time and effort in if I were just doing it for myself.

  15. GREAT post!! My favorite part about blogging is the community and with that comes the conversation. I have never gotten tons of comments, but I do have a loyal bunch of readers and have made some amazing friendships along the way. That says something, actually more than the numbers ever will!

  16. I missed this post during the year so I’m glad you gave it a shout out in your top 5. I agree, it’s all about the feedback for me too. Otherwise I’d just have a private blog but I like the conversations that develop and that make you consider things that you might not have though about. And before I started I never realised how you got to know people by blogging but now it’s one of my favourite things about it.

    • Yup. When I first started blogging (many years and a few blogs ago) it was entirely for me, and I didn’t care if anyone read it. But the more connections I make, the more I realize that this is what blogging really is. If it’s just about me, why put it out there?

Comments are closed.