15 comments on “Armchair BEA – Novellas and Short Stories

  1. Thanks for the link! I don’t think you’re missing out if you’re reading what you love. Maybe pick up one of Stephen King’s collections if you haven’t already? You might also like STAY AWAKE by Dan Chaon…or Best American Mystery Stories. Happy reading!

    • I haven’t read any of Stephen King’s shorter fiction, but I really do need to. I always (okay, usually) enjoy his novels, and I’ve even heard from multiple people who think he’s even better in short form.

  2. I haven’t been a fan of the companion stories especially the ones told from the point of view of another character. In most cases, the voice does feel the same even though the character is part of the larger series.

    • UG! I meant…In most cases, the voice does not sound/feel the same even though the character is part of the larger series. Apparently I should not be allowed to respond to posts after a long day at work. :)

    • I don’t know that point of view has been an issue for me, at least not in the ones that I’ve read. One issue I had though was a thriller debut that had a lead-in novella. I liked the novel, but the novella was in a completely different genre and tone. It gave some historical background that was relevant to the novel, but I don’t think it was a good way to entice people to read the novel.

    • There’s not enough there for me to connect with, and even if I do like it, then I want more and wish it was a novel. I feel like it’s a no-win scenario.

  3. I’m with you! I almost never read novella’s or short stories because a big part of reading for me is connecting with characters. With a lot of those shorter stories there just isn’t enough time to get to know the characters – how they think, the kind of person they are, etc. That said, there are some exceptions. If I’m reading a series with novellas – I pretty much HAVE to get my hands on them at some point so I can have every bit of that story, lol. Another example is Edgar Allen Poe (and similar authors) – I love his short stories and I don’t know if I would love it if he had written novels. So, it depends I suppose.

    • I’ve actually never read any Poe, but he is one people keep bringing up when talking about shorts, so apparently I need to change that.

  4. Honestly, I hardly ever read any novellas as well. I think I’ve only ever read 4 which were the ‘in between books’ for The Selection and Shatter Me. And that’s just because they were both Dystopian love triangles where I wanted to see the perspectives of both boys. Short story wise, I’ve only read a few Edgar Allen Poe. So I’m totally with you when you say it’s harder to connect in such a short amount of time!

    • I used to read those in between stories more than I do now. I think I just have too much else to read, nearly all of it coming from the library, that I forget to even check if the author has anything I need to go out of my way to buy.

  5. I don’t have any specific recommendations, but I’ve been trying to branch out a bit more and try different kinds of reading material, including short stories & novellas (and plays and graphic novels, etc., etc.) I just tend to automatically gravitate toward full length works, but I know there are so many other great things out there that I feel I might be missing out on. In particular I have a few classic short stories on my radar because I think they might be a good way to ease back into classics since I’ve gotten off to a very slow start for the Classics Club :) I have read quite a few e-shorts related to series I’ve read and usually enjoy them. Even though they are mostly for marketing, I have found the ones I’ve tried to be fairly well done and worth reading for the extra background info.

    • I feel like maybe the reason I haven’t had much success with shorter works is that I’m just not reading the right authors. Some authors excel in different forms. But when so many authors who are used to writing novels are suddenly putting out shorter works because it’s expected of them… I’m glad to get the background info, but the stories themselves usually aren’t anything to get excited about.. not bad, but just not thrilling. At least, not the ones I’ve read.

  6. I’m a fan of short works, whether they are short stories, novellas, or essays. There are so many good writers who have done tremendous work. I’ll leave a link to my short story list that I currently have in case you want to check a few out. I have loved Poe since I was a kid. Many movies are made from short stories, too.

    • I think short stories make great movies because you don’t have to cut a ton of stuff out to make it fit, and you might even have time to expand on ideas instead. And if you do make changes, you probably won’t have as many rabid fans complaining, “That’s not the way it was in the book!” Maybe it would be better for Hollywood to mine more story collections for adaptation ideas, rather than jumping on the latest big novel or series. (Or, you know, they could create original stories… never mind, that’s a crazy idea…)

Comments are closed.