22 comments on “Top Ten Tuesday: Nine Books I Wish I Could Read Again for the First Time (or Not)

  1. What a great topic to blog about! For me it would be: 1) any of the Harry Potter books 5-7; 2) Outlander by Diana Gabaldon; 3) Any of the Fever books by Karen Marie Moning (but not her spin off books, I can’t stand those); 4) Any of the Harry Dresden books after 5+. I don’t know if it was the book itself or where I was when I was reading the book. But yeah, wish I could do it over as a first.

  2. I really enjoyed Before I Go To Sleep, and I can see how it wouldn’t be the same re-reading it. Once you know the twist in books – I think it ruins it for future re-reads, at least for me it does. I don’t usually re-read books, although I would love to, if I could ever get my TBR list under control!

    • Knowing the twist doesn’t always ruin a re-read for me, and in some cases I can even enjoy it more, but it really does depend on the book.

  3. I wish I could experience The Night Circus for the first time again. I did re-read it by listening to the audio (I’m not much of a re-reader) and it was just as good the 2nd time through. Awesome that you love Verdon! I loved Think of a Number, though I don’t think the rest of the series was as good. Looking forward to Peter Pan must Die though. If you like good serial killer books, may I point you in the direction of Chris Carter? His Robert Hunter series, which starts with The Crucifix Killer, is AMAZING. He writes creepy serial killer really really well!! It’s my favorite of the detective/killer genre.

    • Think of a Number is still my favorite, though I did enjoy the others. And yes, The Night Circus would be another good one! I haven’t re-read it yet… so it will be interesting to see if all those lyrical passages still have the magic.

  4. I like Gregory Maguire, but I haven’t read Lost. Knowing how much you love it, I might have to give it a try. I hate to be cliche, but Harry Potter would be something I’d like to re-experience for the first time. Or Outlander.

    • If you do read it, just make sure you go into it expecting something different. It’s not a retelling… more very loosely inspired by A Christmas Carol. It really is its own story, more so than his better-known books.

  5. Love this choice of a topic! I have Lost on my shelf, but really did not care for the Wicked books at all and stopped after struggling through Wicked & Son of a Witch (and also Confessions of an Ugly Stepsister). Because of those experiences, I almost gave Lost away several times, but something keeps making me leave it on the shelf. Nice to know how much you enjoyed it — that might help give me a bit of a fresh perspective on it and give Maguire another chance. Part of me does wonder if I was too young/impatient to appreciate those other books when I first read them.

    • I really liked Wicked, but I didn’t enjoy the rest of the series. I like to stick my fingers in my ears and close my eyes and just imagine that the rest of the books never happened.

  6. Great topic! I never get tired of re-reading the Outlander series and Harry Potter, and also The Sparrow by Mary Doria Russell. There’s something new to notice and think about each time. I can’t see reading Before I Go To Sleep more than once, because you’re right, the not knowing is part of what makes this such a great read. I did enjoy re-reading A Discover of Witches before #2 came out, but I agree, it wasn’t quite as magical an experience as discovering the world for the first time. (On a side note, I realized that I don’t have time to re-read #1 & 2 before #3 comes out this summer, and I’m getting a little nervous about that…). I haven’t read Lost — but I’ve had very so-so reactions to Maguire’s other books, so I’ve been feeling like I’m kind of done with him. Anyway, very interesting list!

    • Yeah, I know how that is, writing off an author. Even if you don’t consciously do it, there’s just too many other books out there. I know I used to give authors more of a chance than I do now. If I didn’t care for the first book, maybe the second or third will be more my style… whereas now, if the first book I read is only okay, I’m pretty much done.

  7. I don’t re-read too often, because there are so many new books clamoring for attention, but when I do, it tends to be books that make me laugh–like ones by Terry Pratchett, Christopher Moore, or Janet Evanovich.

    • I don’t know that I read many books that are laugh-out-loud funny. The only two that come to mind are both nonfiction – Hyperbole and a Half and Let’s Pretend This Never Happened.

  8. I plan on re-reading A Discovery of Witches soon and I’m sure it’s not going to be as good as it was the first time around. I remember being so excited about the world building and not even knowing what I was getting into with the series which was such a nice surprise. I’m planning on reading Feed for the first time next month so I will savor it while I can!

    • You’re so right about A Discovery of Witches. I only knew the barest details of what it was about, so the discovery (ha!) was that much more magical. That’s really the best way to read a book, I think, at least for me. That’s why a lot of times I won’t even read the summary… or, more often, I’ll read it when I’m deciding to add the book to my TBR, but by the time I pick it up I won’t remember what it said (and won’t refresh my memory either).

  9. This really is a tough question! There is only one book I can think of that I would love to read again for the first time and that is Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen. I think that I would be afraid to have another first reading for some of my favorite books or the series I constantly re-read for fear that I wouldn’t love them as much now because I’m an adult as opposed to loving them from the time I was a kid/teen on (if that makes sense). Actually, there’s two books. P&P and The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky.

    • Yeah, I get what you’re saying. It can be totally different coming at a book as an adult. Usually we have the nostalgia to keep that love strong, but it can be strange to think that if you hadn’t come to it then, if you’d “missed your window” and read it for the first time now, that it would be just another book.

  10. I would wanna read Harry Potter again for the first time! I was really young when I first read them and so don’t remember my feels all that much =/ And the books that give me more everytime: Harry Potter and The Hobbit. They’re probably the only books I have actually re-read.

    • I think it would have been interesting to grow up with a series like HP. I didn’t read them until all the books were out, and I was in my 20s by then. But I have my books I read when I was younger, and those I read as an adult, but nothing that bridged the gap for me.

  11. Love, love, love A Discovery of Witches. I really probably should do a re-read of it and Shadow of Night before the final book comes out. I just need to find the time and my copies of the books!

Comments are closed.