13 comments on “Armchair BEA – Author Interaction

  1. I’m right there with you when it comes to thinking of authors as celebrities. I have been dipping my little toe in with Twitter and trying to interact a bit, but I’ve had no face-to-face moments. My husband swears that we were sitting next to Donna Tartt in a bar in Amsterdam last year, and I was too scared to turn around and confirm. I was FROZEN.

    • Ha! I would have been the same way. I’m getting better at Twitter, telling myself that they wouldn’t be there if they didn’t want to interact, that that’s what Twitter is all about… but it’s still not something I do very often. And when I do, I don’t expect any interaction in return. But then when it does happen – if an author replies, or favorites, or retweets (this last one hasn’t actually happened) something I said – total flailing fangirl over here. Thanks for stopping by!

  2. I used to think that way, too, but an author is the same as everyone else. Someday I’d like to be an author, and no one’s ever heard of me! I don’t even know what a blue checkmark means.

    • The blue checkmark is a verified account. It’s how Twitter lets us know that they’ve checked (what the process is, I don’t know) and this is the real person and not an impostor. Thanks for stopping by!

    • The interaction between the two of them is just great. I really like following families or couples on Twitter, because they’re usually really funny. Wil and Anne Wheaton are another good pair.

  3. It is hard for me to get over the celebrity status I think of when I think of authors I love. And if I send them a tweet on twitter, I get so nervous! It is nice to be a part of it (and by part of it, I mean a scarce amount of tweets) but like you say it is nice just reading the author’s thoughts and not having the stress! :)

    • Yeah, I get nervous too. I feel like should reach out more, though… not because of networking or making connections, but just because it is so easy these days to say, “Hey, great book.” What’s the worse that could happen? They see it and ignore it? (Or maybe not even see it, depending on how busy their mentions get.) So, big deal. But if they favorite, or retweet, or even respond… then I get to fangirl a little, and I know they appreciated it.

  4. I’m always nervous to just contact an author too! I’m getting braver about though, especially since everyone I have randomly tweeted has been really nice about it :)

    • I’ve only ever had positive response or no response. No response can be disappointing, but I really can’t imagine ever getting a negative response. So, really, what’s the worst that can happen? (And you’re welcome.)

Comments are closed.