24 comments on “Armchair BEA – Literature

  1. Whoa. Just noticed on sidebar; Jack Finney wrote Invasion of the Body Snatchers? The same author who wrote Time and Again? Mind completely blown. I’ll have to take a look at that list of 100 thrillers. Not my favorite, but my students love them.

  2. I love Sophisticated Dorkiness and I love what you are doing here. But i don’t really go in for thrillers. I’m more of a literary fiction kind of gal. Love me some literature!

    • Most literary fiction just doesn’t appeal to me. I can read a great story even if the words aren’t pretty, but I can’t read pretty words without a compelling story to back it up. (But, as Stephen King says, it’s the books that have both that are worth treasuring.)

    • Hmm, I haven’t actually read any YA thrillers, though I know they exist. But if I’m sticking to recommendations of books I know, you might like Mira Grant’s Feed, a sort of science-fiction-horror mashup, and the first in the Newsflesh trilogy. It isn’t YA, but it does have kind of a “kids take on the world” vibe to it, even though the “kids” are in their 20s. And it’s romance-free (though later books in the trilogy aren’t). The Last Child, by John Hart, is definitely not YA, but it does have a 14-year-old boy as a main character. It’s more of a slow-paced, gradually-building mystery, if you’re in the mood for something like that.

    • For something similar to Steve Berry, I’d recommend the Sigma Force series by James Rollins. For more of a mystery thriller, The Bone Collector by Jeffery Deaver is very good.

    • It looks like you read a lot of paranormal romance. Mia Thompson’s Stalking Sapphire and Colby Marshall’s Chain of Command both have a strong romantic element, just minus the paranormal.

    • A lot of the classic thrillers fall into that suspense category. Rebecca (which I see is on your TBR) and Strangers on a Train are both great. Also, though I wouldn’t classify The Bourne Identity as a psychological thriller, it definitely has some of the characteristics… it’s psychological, while still being mainly an action/espionage thriller, I’ll put it that way.

  3. Holy S@#*! I didn’t know Jack Finney wrote the Body Snatchers either! I have Time Again on my TBR. I’ll definitely have to move it soon. :)

    I really like your idea. Here’s my GR profile: https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/210123-d-g

    I read thrillers – my favorite is the John Rain series – but I read so much stuff that I haven’t explored everything the genre has to offer. I’d love any recommendations. I know your feeling about recommending but here are my feelings abou it. If people recommend me something I like, I’ll give them all the credit but if I don’t like it, I don’t blame them. So recommending with me is a win-win. :)

    • This how I feel about recommendations too, at least when I’m on the receiving end of them. But I still get nervous giving them.

      I’ve actually never heard of the John Rain series, so I’ll have to check that out. From reading the description of the first book, you might like David Baldacci’s The Innocent or The Whole Truth; both also feature main characters that do questionable things for all the right reasons. I’d also suggest Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child’s Pendergast series, mostly because Pendergast is an extremely interesting and compelling character. If you’re not a stickler for reading in order, The Cabinet of Curiosities is actually the best starting point; he plays a more minor role in the first two novels (Relic and Reliquary) and this is where we really start to see him do his thing.

    • One thing I picked up from reading a few of your reviews is that you’re an animal lover… one great thriller featuring a military dog as a main character is Robert Crais’s Suspect.

    • For good writing, I’d recommend John Verdon’s Think of a Number (I don’t remember much violence, but that’s not something that usually phases me so it’s hard to say for sure) which is a crime thriller, or Diane Setterfield’s The Thirteenth Tale, which is more of a quiet suspense. Also, it’s more mystery than thriller, but you might enjoy The Cuckoo’s Calling. I can’t think of any political thrillers that pay special attention to the writing, unfortunately (although my favorite, if you’re willing to slum it with a bestseller, is Vince Flynn’s Term Limits).

      • I really like the phrase “slum it with a bestseller” :) My mom is a big Vince Flynn fan, so I will have to see if I can borrow Term Limits from her. I’m also excited about The Cuckoo’s Calling — thanks for the suggestions!

        • Well, if you’re used to great writing, bestsellers (a lot of them, anyway) are a totally different style. You might have to turn off that part of your brain that’s waiting for the next great turn of phrase. As more of a plot person myself, I don’t pay too much attention to the writing; I figure if I don’t specifically notice it, then it’s doing its job. But you probably won’t find many quotable lines.

Comments are closed.