14 comments on “Bookish (and not so bookish) Thoughts – #18

  1. I hope you do readathon! Don’t worry if you end up not reading much, it’s just fun to participate when you can. Last time I ended up sleeping for seven hours in the middle of the day because of a horrible migraine that hit me and this time I have my book club meeting in the evening, so I already know 24 hours won’t happen.

  2. You are not alone on not wanting to read reviews for books in a series! I feel the same – I don’t want to know anything that might spoil it for me. Which reminds me that I should be better about linking reviews to the previous books in the series in my review posts…

    I love the idea of a readathon and I would like to participate someday, but I wonder if I will have the patience to keep reading for so long! :) Good luck with your readathon! I’m sure if you do it, you will enjoy it!

    • I’m thinking I’ll take social media breaks, to update my progress and check in with other readers, but even with that I’m not sure how long I could go without getting up and doing something totally different.

    • My favorite is Bout of Books because it’s a whole week… which for some might make it more pressure, but for me I like the extended time frame. It puts less pressure on any individual day, and I have more time to balance reading with socializing (with life, of course). But I’ve never done a single-day event before.

  3. I like that bloggers review books in a series, as long as it’s a finite series. Like, not one of those mystery series that goes on forever and ever — those reviews can get old. But with trilogies, for instance, I like to hear from bloggers whether the quality stays high throughout. It’s a good way to know whether I want to commit to that trilogy. But I don’t care about spoilers, so it doesn’t matter to me. (Also, I almost always forget them once I’ve read them. :p)

    • Yeah, if you don’t care about spoilers, I guess it’s not a big deal. And I agree, it’s good to hear from someone who’s read the whole thing before I get invested in it myself… but I’d just be looking for much more vague impressions than would be in a review.

  4. I’ve never been able to participate in a readathon. I’ve always wanted to, but with crazy work schedule plus random toddler schedule, I’ve never been able to work it in. I steer clear of reviews about a series for that very same reason…

    • Yeah, work schedule’s tough, but I imagine it’s the toddler schedule that really kills it. Taking advantage while I’m still sans kids!

  5. Completely understandable about not liking reviews for series books. They undoubtedly usually contain spoilers. It is a darn shame that there aren’t more stand alone books out there for the SFF genre that I read in. Makes me sad.

    Kitty snuggles are the best! Except of course if your are sleeping and they decide to snuggle your head/face.

    • I wish there were more stand-alone books period, but it’s true that SFF often have those epic stories that can’t be contained in just one book. As nice as it is to be able to return to favorite characters, I find myself skipping over most reviews just for this reason alone (not to mention my other reasons I might skip a review). It’s no wonder they’re one of my least favorite types of posts… and yet, where would book blogging be without them?

Comments are closed.