6 comments on “ITW Must-Reads: Laura

  1. I would think it would be hard in general to write a character that would be universally captivating, especially in that ‘seductive’ sense. But maybe you’re right and it’s just that it hasn’t stood the test of time. It sounds like an interesting premise, though.

  2. I don’t think I’ve said this before on any of your other ITW reviews, but I think it’s such a great idea to read through these 100 books. I don’t think thrillers would be the right fit for me, but I’d love to try something similar. All the 1001 lists are just too much though…I’ll have to think about it.

    Also, did you realize all your ITW reviews (assuming they all have the ITW tag because that’s how I scrolled through them) are either 2-stars or 4-stars? I thought that was really interesting, especially in light of your recent posts about rating books. It actually does make a lot of sense for books that are recommended — either you like them quite a bit or don’t really care for them, but rarely would you loathe or absolutely love them either. Interesting that none were smack in the middle at a 3 though. OK enough analysis from the peanut gallery :)

    • Ha! I’ve never noticed that! I wonder if the expectations of the list have anything to do with the lack of 3’s… maybe some of the 2’s could have been 3’s if I’d just picked it up on my own, if I wasn’t expecting something better? For what it’s worth, there’s at least one book in there that has a good chance of becoming a 5 when I re-read it (Eye of the Needle). But I sincerely hope I don’t come across any 1’s on this list.

  3. I’ve heard of the old B&W film, but haven’t seen it! Seems like I may be better off watching the movie than reading the book! The plot seems pretty interesting though. Have you seen the movie btw?

    • I haven’t seen the movie. It might work better for me than the book, simply because the actors could bring a little more life into it, and make their love/obsession of Laura something I can see rather than something I’m just supposed to accept as fact.

Comments are closed.