10 comments on “Review: Sycamore Row

  1. I’ve never read a Grisham novel- legal thrillers don’t usually captivate me – but I am curious about why he’s so popular and your review does make this sound interesting, so I might try the first book. And then I can watch that movie! :) Great review!

    • I’m usually not big on legal thrillers either, but I didn’t feel like this one was all about the case. I mean… it was… but it was about how the case affected the town, and it was all the characters that really drove the story. I don’t know if all Grisham’s novels are like this, but I’ll definitely be looking into them.

  2. I’ve only ever read The Firm by Grisham, and was so turned off by it that I never wanted to read anything else by him. But… you do make this one sound interesting. Legal dramas aren’t usually my thing, but I guess maybe I should stop ruling out Grisham automatically and think about giving his books another try. Someday.

    • I don’t blame you for writing him off based on that one experience. I typically do the same thing if I don’t enjoy the first thing I read by an author. Yeah, there’s something to be said for second chances, but there are so many books out there… we have to limit our TBR’s somehow!

  3. I didn’t realize that A Time to Kill had a sequel. I read A Time to Kill and have seen the movie, but I don’t normally go out of my way to read John Grisham novels, although he is undoubtedly a very good writer. One of his books that fell into my lap and I really enjoyed was The Broker. Grisham’s descriptions of Italy were so exquisite, I ended up reading Playing For Pizza shortly after just to hear him describe Italian food.

    • Well the sequel only just came out last year. Between this one and Stephen King’s Doctor Sleep, it makes me wonder if these long-after-the-fact sequels are a new trend. Thanks for stopping by!

  4. Wow!! I love John Grisham’s books though I haven’t read A Time To Kill yet. Ever since I read The Chamber and The Client I’m a huge fan of his books!! This one looks equally intriguing. Thanks for getting this book under my radar!

    • This is the only one of his I’ve read so far, although one of his (The Client, I think) is on the ITW list of 100 must-read thrillers, so I was always planning on reading that one eventually.

Comments are closed.