19 comments on “Top Ten Tuesday: Seven Reasons I Love Being a Book Blogger

  1. I really like reason #3– that is how I feel, too. It’s nice to have creative control over something, a room of your own to do what you want.

    • Unfortunately I can’t have complete creative control unless I switch to self-hosting (and as much as I love blogging, it’s not something I’m willing to put money into at the moment), but it’s good enough for me. Thanks for stopping by!

  2. You’ve said everything so well, there is little I can add to the excellent points you have made. I would be lost without a book on the go, blogging has added another dimension to this love :-)

    • I was on Goodreads for about four years before starting the blog, it just felt like a natural extension of that online bookish community. I really can’t imagine being an avid reader and NOT having a place to share about it.

  3. #2 is true for me. I am not a super social person, but it’s easier to overcome online than in person.

    #4 made my list as well. The worse the day, the more likely I am to pick up a book. I also think it’s one of the reasons I reread frequently. If I was experiencing a particular emotion when I read the book, I pick it up in hopes of experiencing it again.

    • I don’t reread nearly as much as I used to. But it is a great way to try and recapture that feeling. The same way a song can… or even a scent! (I think I remember reading that smell is actually our sense that’s most strongly tied to memory, but I don’t know if it’s true. I don’t remember where I heard it. Guess I should’ve smelled something.)

  4. #3 is why I would never get a co-blogger. I like that the space is mine and I do what I want with it. I have been married 13 years so I am always compromising there. I don’t want to make decisions with other people about what goes on the blog. I want to do it myself. So I know what you mean there!!!

    • Yeah, I have toyed with the idea (never seriously, it just crosses my mind when I see others talking about the subject) and I don’t think I could do it. Maybe I could have a frequent guest-poster. But not a true co-blogger.

  5. #2 is definitely true for me too :) And so is #4, books are all about escaping to another world for me. Whether it’s a made up one or our own world in someone else’s shoes. It’s just nice to be able to do that and imagine it. Nothing compares!

  6. I completely agree with the reading and writing…that’s why I started my blog too. I wanted to write more and I love reading so why not combine the two. And I totally get the escape–anything with a great story line takes us away from our own.

    • I’m really glad I discovered blogging, because this form of writing just suits me so much better than trying to write fiction… which I did for years, and it was always terrible! Thanks for reading!

  7. My imagination is so much more vivid than movies and tv – and really they just don’t give you everything. It’s all so short. I love escaping into the worlds that authors create and sharing that love of genre with friends. Blogging I sometimes love and sometimes hate. Usually only hate when I’m stressed and think argh another post to format another review to write. But I’ve made so many awesome friends that it makes it all worth it.

    • Blogging can have its downsides too, but I think the key, at least for me, is to keep it casual. Not to say I don’t put effort into it, but I have to remember that it’s a hobby, not a job. If I start stressing about it, then it’s not fun, and then it’s not worth doing anymore.

      • I completely agree. I likely stress myself out a bit too much and thats my own fault for just thinking I can read more and more and more lol. Which makes sleep and all other hobbies suffer!

Comments are closed.