24 comments on “Bookish (and not so bookish) Thoughts – #8

  1. I understand the frustration of feeling like you can only write lists. I went through that for a while. Honestly? I had to stop caring whether people read or commented and that seemed to lift a lot of the burden.

    …with the added bonus that my writing seems to have improved as a result. STOP CARING! BE APATHETIC! Or something.

    • Yeah, I know. And it’s not even a “must get page views” kind of pressure, it’s more that I WANT to be writing and just can’t seem to. I’ve never really hit a blogging slump before, so I guess I was due.

  2. Thanks for the shout-out! The point I was trying to make is exactly what you said, we should all count (or not count) books however we truly want — I just hate seeing people be so hard on themselves out of worry about what others might think. I’m on team reading, period. :)

    As for historical fiction, I agree that we can’t take everything as fact, but I do hope authors are not including deliberate or blatant inaccuracies. Details, and particularly dialogue, are always going to have an element of fiction, so one really must take it all with a grain of salt. Overall, though, I think I do learn a lot from historical fiction, even if it’s only a better general understanding of a particular period.

    • Yes, definitely have to take it with a grain of salt. I guess I’m just already used to doing that since a lot of the thrillers I read have a historical slant, uncovering some past mystery or conspiracy, and there’s always a line when fact becomes fiction (though with the really good ones, unless you’re an expert, you won’t know where that line is). So when I started reading books actually set in the past, I was already used to assuming it’s not necessarily all true.

  3. I’ve never thought that it was an unspoken rule of historical fiction to trust the research. When I was young I believed more than I should have probably (like I thought the Dear America diaries I loved were actually true), but after I discovered how wrong I was I’ve never taken the research to be exact. It’s against a believable backdrop, but I don’t expect it to be completely accurate.

    But I love historical fiction in general.

    Also, I like your bulleted lists. I don’t think they’re a bad thing at all, especially if they work. Plus people love lists. :)

    • I like my bulleted lists too. I’ve just gotten so used to writing in these small chunks… I start to write a post, get a paragraph in, and I’m done!

  4. So, YES the Super Bowl, ugh!! I was really hoping the Broncos would come back in the second half, but no it just wasn’t to be! I’m glad it’s over now though, it was in my state and I was so sick and tired of hearing it called the NY Super Bowl.

    The secret library looks cool – I hardly ever venture in to NYC but that may just be worthy of a trip!

  5. I’m not into Football so I didn’t watch the super bowl, but I’m definitely interested in the Olympics! Gonna be cheering for Canada a bunch :)
    I read some historical fiction, and usually unless the author mentions real historical points like near the end of the book, then I assume it’s a story too. A few times I’ve researched some history as well, usually if I want to know more about it.

    • I really like when authors do that. I don’t mind if they make changes that fit the story, but it’s really nice when they do acknowledge the facts and where they fudged it with artistic license, rather than just not doing the research in the first place.

  6. I’m quite certain I over-trust historical fiction. I never would have caught that Dickens bit, but I’m not sure I would have assumed that Poe really hated Dickens over that passage… The interpersonal stuff, particularly with real historical figures, is really where the “fiction” comes in. I don’t think I’d have given it another thought, until I incorrectly answered a trivia question… I take trivia night way too seriously.

  7. I think I bring a skeptical eye to the facts of historical fiction when I’m reading, but it’s not always easy to remember later on what facts I have learned in my life from actual history vs facts (?) I learned from reading historical fiction. I retain an idea of what history was like much longer than I retain the memory of where I learned that fact from.

    • That’s a good point, not remembering where you heard something from. I guess since I read a lot more novels than non-fiction, it’s safe to assume that everything I do “know” came from fiction… and that I don’t really know anything!

  8. The Super Bowl… boring. My team was totally playing and lost but I mean..BORING. The commercials were all for cars too. Just not great. But half time was super fun!

    Speaking of every book counting on your challenges. I do wish that goodreads would allow me to pick which books to count. I read a lot of graphic novels but I don’t like to count those towards the number of books I read each year. So at the end of the year I’ll just go through and subtract those.

    I actually know of a blogger who does their reviews in bullets. (http://www.onstarshipsanddragonwings.com/) Some people just write better that way. I sometimes have a hard time coming up with discussion posts too. SIGH….

    • Yeah, the game was really disappointing. I don’t know if I could say this if it was MY team, but even though I was rooting for the Broncos, I would have rather seen a great game that the Seahawks won than a blowout by the Broncos (though either of those would have been preferable to what we got).

  9. I like your thoughts on Challenges. They are suppose to be fun. I like keeping track of pages read via my GoodReads profile. The last 3 years I’ve read over 20,000 pages!

    • It really is crazy to see some of those stats once you start keeping track! As long as keeping track doesn’t get in the way of enjoying the reading.

  10. I hear you on getting stuck with discussion posts. I’m a bit like that with all posts right now. I’m in a bit of a slump and just hope it passes soon as I hate feeling like this.
    The Secret Library sounds fun, especially the meeting under the clock! But I don’t think railroad books hold much appeal for me. Still it would be a fun experience!
    And Historical Fiction, what you said! One of my favourite things about this genre is that it makes me aware of events and then I research them to see how accurate the book was. But believing what you read as fact is never a great idea.

Comments are closed.