18 comments on “ITW Must-Reads: Rebecca

  1. I JUST finished Rebecca, and yes. I think it’s considered gothic romance as a genre, which usually have some of the same elements, I think like a spooky estate/property, a withdrawn, possibly guilty husband that the protagonist is in love with, etc. I don’t remember for sure. But I really enjoyed it, too.

    • I haven’t read any 19th century (or before) lit since high school so it’s hard to say for sure, but I feel like Rebecca could be a great gateway book to some of those Victorian classics.

    • Last year I saw so many people who were reading this I wondered if a new movie adaptation was coming out for it to be getting so much attention. Nope… it’s just that popular. Not bad for a 75-year-old book!

    • I highly recommend it! It completely lived up to my expectations. I love when I read something popular and don’t have to wonder what it is that I’m missing.

  2. My mother recommended Rebecca to me before I ever heard of it from any other source, so I had no expectations of it going in. I just loved it. It’s hard for me to think about it in a genre category (romantic suspense), because when I read it for the first time, I’d never read anything like it. It still retains a lot of that sui generis feeling to it.

  3. I really enjoyed Rebecca and Daphne du Maurier’s work in general! In fact the next review for my blog is for one of her novels (The House on the Strand). I’ve heard that Rebecca was inspired by Jane Eyre so I think that gives Rebecca it’s gothic flair and I totally agree that Daphne du Maurier is great at creating atmosphere and suspense.

  4. Rebecca has been on my must-reread list for years now. Maybe 2014 is when it will happen! So glad you enjoyed it.

    • I hadn’t even heard of it until a couple years ago. I guess if it wasn’t required in school, my knowledge of older books is severely lacking. I hope you get around to it soon!

  5. Rebecca is one of those books that I feel everyone but me has read. I like the sound of the gothic, romantic suspense. And I don’t know the plot either so that’s a huge plus for me too. Think I’ll line it up for one of my Dust off Your Classics reads soon.

  6. I mostly skimmer your review, since I hope to read this myself soon, I’m glad you liked it :) Have you thought of picking up Alena? It’s a recent release which is a retelling of Rebecca.

  7. It’s been years since I read Rebecca but I remember really enjoying it. There is just something to this story that makes it great. Maybe I need to read it again some time :)

Comments are closed.