28 comments on “Top Ten Tuesday: Three Things on My Reading Wishlist

  1. YES, I’d love to see more platonic relationships portrayed in books. I like romances but they are EVERYWHERE and everything people seem to write about. I couldn’t come up with 10 points for today either.

  2. I think you’ve hit the nail on the head there with why they only ever write about extremist Christians…

    • There’s so much fertile ground out there! I know it might step on some toes, but so did The Da Vinci Code and that was a bestseller!

  3. Good list, I love platonic relationships as well and I think if you want a really good platonic relationship you should watch Revenge because the friendship between Emily and Nolan is pretty much the heart of the show and so far it hasn’t became a romance(although since her love interests don’t know who she really is you might end up wishing they were more than friends) and Elementary is another series with a great platonic relationship.

    • Especially based on people’s comments here, it seems to be a more popular thing on TV than in books (or at least the books that get all the buzz). Thanks for stopping by!

  4. I am SO with you on #1. I’m entirely sick of the lack of good male/female friendships, as well as unnecessary romance. Blergh.

    • I don’t mind a good romance, it’s the “unnecessary” that really gets me riled up. So many great books turned into good books because they devote too much time to a romantic subplot that no one cares about anyway. (Okay, that *I* don’t care about… and that’s obviously all that matters, right?)

  5. #1 Drives me crazy too! If the main character is a female, I know as soon as a random male is introduced, they will have a “love connection.” I don’t like the predictability and there are a lot of great male/female friendships out there that could definitely add to a story line. Spice it up authors (and not in the romantic way!)

Comments are closed.