15 comments on “The “Cheapys” (or, My Top Reads from 2013)

  1. One of my favorite things about your blog is that we rarely overlap, yet you have good taste in books. I loved Doctor Sleep too and that quote in particular is one that stuck with me as well. Now I feel like I must go pick up Eyes of the Dragon. Divergent is one that I can’t decide on. I’m thinking I’ll pass on it. The Hunger Games is all the dystopian YA I can handle.

    • Divergent is definitely not a must-read, which is disappointing, because I loved the idea of it. Comparing first book to first book, I liked Divergent more than The Hunger Games. But taking the trilogies as a whole, The Hunger Games was just a stronger story overall. At least that’s how I felt about them.

    • I definitely need to read McGuire’s urban fantasy books. It’s a genre that usually doesn’t grab me, but I’m excited to give her a try since I already know I enjoy her.

      • Well, I hope you like them! Sometimes beloved authors are good across genres, other times your feelings for the genre matters too much.

        It’s pretty dark, if that helps–dangerous magic, some death and destruction. And a kick@ss heroine. :)

  2. LOVED that Doctor Sleep quote! I wrote it down the minute I came to it, I loved it so much!

    So glad you liked Eyes of the Dragon, and Fforde, and The Green Mile, and Ready Player One! I’m curious about Blood of the Lamb. I’ll have to investigate!

    Happy New Year!!!

  3. Although I read a mix of books, most of the bloggers I follow are exclusively YA. It was refreshing to see James Rollins on your list!! Love him!!! I have to admit I was surprised to see The Eyre Affair on your list. It would probably be my most disappointing book of the year. I was so excited about it and then really didn’t like it.

    • It’s a shame you didn’t enjoy The Eyre Affair. But as for James Rollins, I love him as well. It’s so hard to pick a single favorite author but he’s definitely up there.

  4. Wow, I love the diversity of books on your top reads list :) I think the only ones I’ve read are The Eyre Affair, which I thought was awesome, and Divergent, which didn’t really do it for me. Hopefully I’ll get to some of the others this year.

    • I really liked Divergent, I loved the world she set up, and I thought it had a lot of potential… that the other two books just didn’t live up to. For me. It’s hard when a series is that hyped though.

  5. So many good books on this list!! I re-read The Eyes of the Dragon at the end of the year and loved it!! So much better than I ever remember it being!!

    • I’m way behind on my Stephen King, but I was glad that one was brought to my attention. A refreshing change of pace from his more “typical” books. (Though I don’t know that anything can top The Green Mile for me. Damn, that one just punched me in the gut.

Comments are closed.