20 comments on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten 2014 Releases I’m Dying to Read

  1. I still haven’t started the Rothfuss or Cronin series, but I have them on my shelf! I keep waiting to hear when the final books will be released… so if it’s 2014, I’ll finally jump in!

    • I have a lot more faith in Cronin than Rothfuss. There were two years between the first two books, so another two years seems reasonable. The Rothfuss, though, the first book came out in ’07 and the second in ’11. So ’14 seems optimistic… but you never know!

  2. I had no clue the new Kingkiller Chronicle book was on the horizon. I always avoid looking for publishing dates for books like these and the gentlemen bastards series because there is so much time between books it just depresses me. Even though it probably won’t happen next year, I agree a girl can hope!!!

    • I don’t know that it’s on the horizon. Just on the other side, maybe. Wikipedia says it could be 2014, and the source was an interview with Rothfuss (that I didn’t watch because it was like 2 hours long), but I definitely take that with a grain of salt.

  3. Very intrigued by The Furies! Ooooh how did I forget Armada?? Very excited for that one. I loved Ready Player One as well. :) I have yet to read the 2nd Harkness because I had planned on trying to squeeze in a re-read of book one due to the lack of recap in book 2 I simply couldn’t remember enough for the story to make sense. May have to try to find a decent recap online instead. :)
    Thanks for stopping by!

    • I plan to re-read both Harkness books before reading the 3rd. Online recaps just aren’t the same for me; I really want to lose myself in that world again. That’s why I usually just wait until a series is complete and read the whole thing at once, but this one sucked me in early. Thanks for reading!

    • Yup! Like I said, I hardly remember the first book, other than that I enjoyed it. Definitely looking forward to returning to Kvothe’s story.

  4. Ok so when I wrote my post it said that Armada would come out July 2014 (no exact date) I saw your comment so I went to double check and now it has an actual date of October 7, 2014. Not sure I can wait that long!!

    I also had no idea that there was a date (and title) for The Book of Life. So freaking excited!!

    • Yes, of all the conclusions I’m waiting on, that was the first to get a solid date. Definitely excited to see how it all comes together!

  5. I’ll be interested in the Book of Life. See how that trilogy ends…. hopefully good. Armada has me really excited!!

  6. Hooray! The passage trilogy comes to an end, the King Killer Chronicles will end…Armada will be fantastic, it better be or I’ll lose my mind – and now I need to look into this Peter Pan Must Die. I saw one titled Dorothy Must Die also for next year.

    • Well, this one’s not a retelling. At least I don’t think it is (otherwise Verdon is taking a pretty big departure from his previous books). I’m curious to hear what the book is actually about and how it connects to Peter Pan.

      ETA: Realized retelling isn’t the right word for what I meant since I don’t think Dorothy Must Die is actually a retelling either… more like a skewed unofficial sequel or something.

  7. Yay! All of these books are pretty new to me. Not really surprising because they’re horror and thrillers, right? I rarely read thrillers and I don’t read horrors. Most of my 2014 must reads belong under the Fantasy and Dystopia genres.

    I hope you will be able to read them all come 2014.

    • Most are, yes, though The Book of Life is paranormal fantasy, and The Doors of Stone closer to epic fantasy. Thanks for stopping by!

Comments are closed.