6 comments on “ITW Must-Reads: The Eight

  1. Aw, too bad it wasn’t better. Sometimes a quest story can be worthwhile in itself, without needing to convince you that the MacGuffin is worth chasing — evidently this wasn’t one of those times!

    • Well just the fact that it’s on this list suggests there are plenty of people who enjoyed it. I wasn’t one of them, though. It’s funny how one book can have a lot of the same weaknesses as another, but in one you’re willing to overlook them and in the other you’re not.

    • Thanks! There’ve been some so far I’ve enjoyed less than others, but this was the first one I felt like I would DNF if it weren’t part of this project.

  2. I love the Eight sooooo much!! I am surprised you didn’t. I recommend this book all the time.. now recently (and I forgot when but a few years ago) there was a sequel written to this book and boy did it stink. It was awful… I should’ve DNF it but I struggled through.

    • I saw there was a sequel. Just based on the description, it looked like it followed pretty much the same story, just with her daughter, and a different historical time period. Good to know it’s not worth checking out.

Comments are closed.