16 comments on “Random Reads: Smasher

  1. I always pick up randoms in the library! I love the thrill of not knowing what I’m getting. You can get some gems that easy. You can get some stinkers too. Or, like you, you can pick up a book that’s in the middle of a series. I do that a lot. I frequently take books back that I haven’t read because they didn’t flip my switch, but it’s worth it for the ones I find that are great.

    • The funny thing is, I’m sure the majority of books I picked up this way weren’t new favorites… but those tend to slide out of my memory and I mainly remember the ones that are. Thanks for stopping by.

  2. I like the idea of picking up a random read with no expectations or preconceived notions. It happens me more with older books as I won’t have seen much about them. When I go in to a bookshop and look at the new books, I realise I have read arc reviews for so many of them now. Glad this one worked out ok!

    • It is funny what book blogging does to your perception. Recently there was huge excitement about the release of Just One Year, the follow-up to Just One Day… but I’d already seen so much about it (and since it’s not one I planned to read myself I wasn’t paying too much attention) and I had no clue it hadn’t been already released.

  3. I love a good random read! A lot of the time I forget how a book gets onto my Nook and it turns into a random read. Or I get hand-me-downs from family members. I’ll read anything so I read a lot of randoms. Hope next month is even better!

  4. I’ve only done this a few times over the past couple of years (pointing finger at goodreads). I can remember coming across Jane Lynch’s autobiography & thought it would be nice to know more about actors than face value. Although now that I think about it, it’s weird knowing personal details of people that you’ll probably never meet? I got it out & enjoyed it :)

    • Yes, Goodreads totally revolutionized the way I read. In many ways it’s a good thing, but it has taken away some of the magic. That’s what I’m hoping to get back by making a point of it every now and then.

  5. The excitement of a random read is worth the chance of a possible stinker. It is that unknown factor that makes it worth doing. Thanks for the suggestion.

    • It can be really fun! And, in time, the memories of the stinkers fade, and mostly what I think of now is how several of my all-time favorite books started out as random reads.

  6. I feel like every time I pick up a random book without reference, I’m disappointed. I really want to come across a random find though. So I totally feel ya.

    • A great book is a great book, no matter where it comes from… but there’s just something extra special about it when you had no clue what you were getting into.

  7. At the library I tend to pick up unknown non-fiction books on the “new releases” wall. I always browse there, and sometimes I just find something that sounds interesting (It’s how I came across My Beloved Bronotosaurus, which I loved.)

    Really though, I tend to pick up completely new-to-me books more often at the bookstore. Maybe I spend longer browsing there, or the books are just featured better in a bookstore. I love your idea of aiming to read something random once a month! How fun :-)

    • I do think books are featured better in a bookstore than in a library… but unfortunately (for the books, anyway) I just can’t take a chance on an unknown if I’m spending money on it. At one time I could, but at the moment it’s just not something that makes sense for me. The library makes me much more willing to bring home books I know nothing about, but the books don’t jump out at me nearly as much.

Comments are closed.