22 comments on “Bookish (and Not So Bookish) Thoughts

  1. Ha! Robin Sparkles :) I’m always too cheap/lazy to dress up for Halloween… plus it doesn’t help that for the last several years I’ve usually had to go into work so I can’t even stay up late. Boooo.

    Have fun with your Chicago visit! Hopefully the socialization doesn’t get to be too much.

    • I usually don’t do Halloween either, but we have friends who get really into it. Last year I wore a store-bought costume and felt as out of place as if I hadn’t worn one at all.

  2. Love your purple tights!

    As for 3, ditto. I renewed my books and only have a few days left. I will not get through all of them. That’s the only bummer about the library. I should know better than to check out in the middle of the semester.

    And have fun in Chicago! I’ve never been, but I’ve heard good things.

  3. Random books is what my blog Blissfully Ignorant Reading is all about. I think going to the library is a great way get Blissfully Ignorant Books, as I call them. I love the blind date with a book idea too. How often do you pick random books? Are there any particular features of a book that make it a good random read?

  4. It’s been chilly in the city (I work downtown and that wind can get nasty) so bundle up. But have fun. I love doing staycations in the city and just doing the cultural stuff. Even though I grew up in the burbs, I enjoy being a tourist in my own city.

    • I never spent much time down there growing up. And by the time I would have liked to take advantage of it, I’d moved away. Aside from a couple specific events, I haven’t spent any time downtown in over ten years. It will be good to get down there again.

  5. I’m not so sure about the Blind Date Book either…but agree, great idea for libraries. This year I have made an effort to buy a couple of books that I know NOTHING about – I can’t have read a review, an author interview, have read anything by the author previously… It’s been fun.

  6. Enjoy your Chicago visit. I just recycle my Halloween costume every year, I’m not even remotely creative about it. I haven’t been to a costume party in years, I dress up for work or trick or treating though.

    And I do the same thing at the library. Either that or all my holds will come in at once and I know I have zero chance of reading them all.

  7. I love seeing costumes! I haven’t dressed up since high school, but one of these years I’m going to go for it. The high school where I teach encourages it and I’m sure the kids would get a kick out of it.

    Thanks for participating, by the way!

    • I hadn’t either until last year when I was first invited to this friend’s party. This group really goes all out for Halloween. Thanks for reading!

    • I’m usually not very clever either. I think this costume, even though it didn’t turn out as well as I’d envisioned it, has used up my creativity for about the next five years.

  8. I’ve never done a true random read — I like the idea of it, but in reality I read kind of slow, so I’m always afraid I’ll end up with something I’m not really in the mood for which will then prolong the experience even further. Maybe one day I will be adventurous OR narrow down my pool to pick from — say 20 books I would be happy to start and randomly choose from there.

    • I think the important thing is to not feel like I HAVE to finish it. If I pick something up and it’s just not for me, I’d feel no guilt putting it down… especially since it’s not something that’s been sitting on my TBR for ages.

Comments are closed.