10 comments on “ITW Must-Reads: Eye of the Needle

  1. I’ve never been into spy novels! Or the military action thrillers either. Though I do like thrillers with serial killers. I wonder what that says about me. haha

    • Amusingly, whenever the MI5 needs help from local police, they tell them they’re looking for a serial killer, since everything he knows and even the fact that he’s a German spy is classified. But still… probably not the kind of serial killer thriller you have in mind.

  2. I read this book last year and really enjoyed it. I would have never guessed it would be on the thrillers list but I’m glad it is. I really enjoy Ken Follett and his take on historical events.

    • This is the second by Ken Follett I’ve read. Both have been thrillers, but after reading this one it’s not hard to see why he decided to start writing historical fiction. He creates a really detailed world, without it being overwhelming.

  3. Sounds good, I haven’t read many spy novels but I’ll add this to my read list. I like the way you’ve included the thoughts of Tess Gerritsen (whom I love), it’s a really diferent way to review.

    • Thanks, Trish. I figure since I’m working off the list in this book, it would be fun to incorporate the “experts'” thoughts as well as my own.

    • No, the only other Follett I’ve read is Whiteout, which is a much more current thriller (both in terms of publication and setting) and a very good one.

Comments are closed.