2 comments on “Review: The Watchman

  1. I’ve been reading a lot of Harlan Coben and Robert Crais lately, including books 2 and 3 of the Joe Pike spin-off. I love Joe! Elvis is a hoot, but even he needs Joe sometimes. I think you’ll enjoy any of the series you pick up (and you’re right, it’s easier to start with the Pike books, although most of the Elvis books can stand alone).

    • I’ve found that books written in the ’80s can sometimes read differently than those written now. I figured if Crais has been writing that long he may still have some of that older style, but if his writing style has evolved over the years I’d rather start with something more recent. If I’d read the first book and didn’t care for it… well, did I not like it because of the generational gap, or did I not like it because it’s a debut and the author hasn’t found his voice yet, or did I just not like it? Now that I know I do like him, I can continue with the Pike books, or I can go all the way back to the beginning.

Comments are closed.