35 comments on “Why I Didn’t Read Gone Girl

  1. Ironically, Gone Girl was the book I wanted to read because I wanted to know what all the fuss was about. I work at a library and it was one of the few non-James Patterson books that was on the hold shelf for longer than a month, so it piqued my curiosity. I really enjoyed it, but I understand what you’re saying. Why waste your time on a book, even feeling the pressure to read, when there’s so many other books out there waiting for you? Myself, I’ve also learned to DNF a lot and I don’t mind. I guess it’s also good not to even pick the book up in the first place.

    • I’m much better with DNFing than I used to be, but it’s not a perfect solution to every “not for me” book out there. With this one, I probably would be compelled enough to see it through to the end, even if I didn’t find it great. Dark Places was a page-turner while I was reading it, but it just left me with that “meh” feeling in the end. Thanks for reading!

  2. I was curious to read Gone Girl because it sounded like my kind of book. I am actually looking forward to reading more from Gillian Flynn, but Gone Girl did kind of disappoint me at the ending. I understand though, that you should only read something if you want to. I mean, I’m the weird one who’s never read Harry Potter or LOTR, and that’s like OMG WHAT to a lot of people. There are millions of books to read, and we’ll never get through them all, especially if you’re reading books you didn’t want to originally. Honestly, since you like thrillers? I think maybe you would like this one, simply because the husband is actually pretty likable despite his obvious downfalls throughout the course of the book. But that’s just me. :)

    • YOU’VE NEVER READ– no, I’m just kidding. The thing is, Gone Girl sounds like my kind of book too, and if I hadn’t already had my “meh” experience from Dark Places, I would have jumped on that bandwagon long ago. And I can’t say I’ll never try it, but it’s definitely pretty far down on my list.

  3. The Fault in Our Stars. Am I the only person who hasn’t read it? Like you I don’t really have any serious inclination to read it. I may give in and read eventually but not now. I haven’t really seen many bookbloggers openly saying they won’t read an overhyped book just well, just because. It’s great that you have made it clear though that you won’t be pressured into reading this book due to the deluge of praise it has received.

    • I’ve never read The Fault in Our Stars — or any John Green for that matter — either, but young adult isn’t really my thing, especially contemporary young adult. Thanks for stopping by!

  4. I really liked Gone Girl, but after your experience with Dark Places, I don’t blame you in the slightest for not reading more Flynn. If I can’t connect with a single character, I’m out. I don’t have to like them necessarily, but if I can’t feel anything for them? Meh. I like to be invested in my books!

    • Exactly, and I just wasn’t invested. Curious to find out what happens, yes. Invested in the outcome, not so much.

  5. I wanted to know why everyone was reading this book. I read it. Lets just say, I could not keep interest in the story. I thought it was bland. This was the first book I had ever read of Flynn’s. To each their own, not everyone likes certain genres or books even! :) I’m glad I read it though so I can give my opinion on it, and let everyone else find their own if they decide they would like to find out! As for me, this book was not good. Thanks for the post!

    • Exactly, not every book is for everyone. I think Flynn is a talented writer and obviously has an audience, it just isn’t me. Thanks for commenting!

  6. I have to admit I ended up enjoying Gone Girl, but still hated both main characters. I gave in to reading The Fault in Our Stars, and hated it like I thought I would despite every person thinking it was the best book ever. Life’s just too short. You don’t have to apologize for not going along with the masses. It is people like you who will give us new ideas of other books to read. :)

    • Oh, I do go along with the masses on a lot of things, and there are several books I’ve read that I thought did live up to their hype. I think it’s because this is “my genre” that I have a better idea of what I will and won’t like. Thanks for stopping by!

  7. I was one of the few people who read it, but didn’t like it. I of course hated the main characters, but I also was able to figure out where it was heading pretty quickly – not sure what that says about my mind. Perhaps it’s a dark, dark place…

    • One of my biggest curiosities about it is whether I would be able to see the twist ahead of time or not… just because so many people were so caught off guard with it, but reading so much thriller I’d say very little surprises me anymore.

      There was a book I read a couple years back that was pretty disturbing, but I kept going because I’d heard it was so good (I also wasn’t great at DNFing back then). But when I got to the big dramatic twist… I didn’t see it coming, but I also wasn’t OMG SHOCKED! I was just sort of… “Well, okay… is that it? Yeah, I guess so…” Again, not a terrible book, and lots of people liked it (my GR friends who’ve read it gave it 4 or 5 stars), but not one I’d spend the time reading if I could go back and do it over.

  8. You’re not missing out! I just finished Gone Girl (finally) and was decidedly underwhelmed. Sharp Objects, her first, was her best.
    I also have not read The Fault in Our Stars. I tend to read stuff nobody is geeking over. =*)
    Just started Inferno by Dan Brown and it’s been an eye-roller so far, but I’ll probably finish it.

    • Well, despite the fact that I don’t want to read it, I’m sorry you didn’t like Gone Girl, especially if you’re already a fan of Flynn. As for Inferno, I thought it was better by far than The Lost Symbol, but not as good as Angels & Demons or The Da Vinci Code. Thanks for reading!

  9. I have often read a book just because I wanted to see what all the fuss was about. And I think it works out fairly evenly — sometimes I like the book, sometimes I’m neutral, and sometimes it turns out awesome. But usually if I have a good reason for expecting not to like a book, I tend to not like that book. That is why I have never read Jack Kerouac.

    • I’d say that’s mostly true of myself as well — a vague “I don’t know if this is my thing” and I may end up pleasantly surprised, but “I don’t think I’ll like this because of X” and I probably won’t. Is that just knowing my own tastes, or a self-fulfilling prophecy? (Or maybe a bit of both.)

  10. Great post! I totally agree – I’ve never read any of Gillian Flynn’s stuff but when I see a book that’s just OFF THE WALL popular I usually either a) want to read it to see what the hype’s about or b) my contrarian instinct kicks in and I stay as far away from it as possible. With her stuff, it was B. But I have to admit I read the Hunger Games based on the hype, and, while the books weren’t stellar instances of writing, I enjoyed them.

    And don’t even get me started on 50 Shades of Grey. (At least she spelled “grey” the proper English way. That’s all I have to say about that.)

    • There are several things I’ve read just because of the hype, and usually it works out okay… even if I don’t love it, I typically don’t hate it. It’s just funny to see what grabs the public’s attention, because *most* of my favorites (though definitely not all) are books that I stumbled across on my own.

  11. I’ve read all three of her books now, and can’t say that I liked any of the characters…but I really liked the books. All of them.

    In fact, I hated both Amy and Nick in Gone Girl, but this was my favorite book of the three. I think I just loved to hate them. Really.

    However, I can totally understand your active avoidance and your irrational anger over people like me. Hahaha! I feel the same way about The Help. I won’t ever read it, I don’t understand people’s gushing over it, and it makes me irrationally angry when people say it such a wonderful depiction of the times. Um, no.

    • And it makes me so torn, because I know the joy of reading a book you just love, and I’m glad that so many people had a positive experience, just… did it have to be *this* book? If it hadn’t gotten so big, I wouldn’t have given it a second (or even a first) thought. But… it’s my problem, not theirs. And like I said, it’s been out a year now, it’s gone through its round of awards, everyone who wanted to read it has read it and talked about it, and I’m no longer seeing it everywhere I turn. (Until they decide to make a movie out of it…)

      • You know what other author does this to me? Hillary Mantel. Wolf Hall was SO BAD. I couldn’t get past the first fifty or sixty pages. It was terrible. I’ve only put down two books in my life without finishing them, and that was one of them. But she keeps winning ALL THE AWARDS and I can’t stand it. Hahaha!

  12. Most of the time I’m very disappointed by those popular books (not to say bestsellers!) because they either lack a good story, or interesting characters, which, to me, is essential.

    • True, and then there are some amazing books out there that most people have never heard of. It’s interesting to see what grabs the public’s attention and what doesn’t… which title, with a combination of marketing and luck, will be next.

  13. I thought I was the only one who hadn’t read that book. I also don’t have any desire to and I don’t know why. I’ve never read any of Ms. Flynn’s other books – it’s just that this book didn’t appeal to me. Life is too short to be stuck with a book I won’t enjoy – there are so many on my big mountain of to-read that I need to get to sooner.

    • If I hadn’t had the prior experience, I would have grabbed this immediately, because it does sound like something I would enjoy. But I think it’s different if the popular book is clearly not your type of book… although even then I’ve taken a chance and been pleasantly surprised. I didn’t think I’d like a historical epistolary novel, but I was completely enchanted by The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society.

  14. The Fifty Shades of Grey epidemic that has been going on. I was at first curious how a fanfiction was able to be transformed into a massively popular book but I really wasn’t interested in reading it myself. I would have rather found someone else who had read it and then picked their brain. Then I came across an excerpt in a writing magazine. I was not impressed. It’s not the subject matter, though that isn’t my usual cup of tea, it’s the writing. I have no intentions of ever reading more than that brief excerpt. A friend of mine has lived in Japan for the past year and when I met her for coffee she mentioned that Fifty Shades is big there too. She is considering reading it simply to see what the hype is about.

    • That’s another one I have no intention of reading, although that has more to do with not having any interest in erotica than anything else. Thanks for stopping by!

  15. I couldn’t agree more with you! I feel so robbed when I finished reading Gone Girl, it’s pants and I’d tried so hard to avoid, I wish I’d stuck to my guns and steered well clear!

    • Sorry you had a bad experience, though I admit it’s nice to hear the occasional dissenting voice amid all the praise for this book. Thanks for stopping by!

  16. I loved Gone Girl but have to admit I despised the characters. And yes that’s a strong word but I really hated them. I did however like the writing and all the twists so I ended up really enjoying it despite them. Like you though, if I have a bad experience with an author I’m unlikely to give them another chance as I think that author just isn’t for me, no matter how popular they are. It happens, shrugs!

    • I might cave and read this one, just to see… especially as the movie gets closer. I’ve heard from a few people who’ve read all of Flynn’s novels that the one I read was their least favorite, so maybe I just picked a bad one to start with. It’s really hard to look past that first impression though.

Comments are closed.