11 comments on “Armchair BEA – Children’s & Young Adult Lit

  1. I totally agree about starting a series in the middle. I feel like I’m missing out! YA is something I only reach for occasionally, and only when highly recommended. Happy Armchair BEA!!

    • I’m always really late to the game with YA. I refused to read HP until after the last book came out. Of course, I wasn’t in the book blogging world then, so I just had a couple friends who’d occasionally bug me, instead of seeing it everywhere I look. Thanks for stopping by!

    • Sweet Valley High was never on my radar for some reason… and then years later I discovered I was the odd one out for never having read them… and then wondered why I’d never read them. Still not sure on the answer to that one.

  2. I love Babysitters Club! For a long time they were almost the only books I cared about.

    I will admit that I enjoy rereading books I liked as a kid, last week I reread Maniac Magee and over the last few years I’ve picked up quite a few Judy Blume books and Number the Stars. They are good books, regardless your age.

    I’ve been reading a lot more YA books as well. Most of the time they are free Kindle books that I happened to come across and I’m definitely more open to the idea of reading YA on occasion.

    • It’s always nice, even if you just pick it up for a quick flip through. We all have a special place in our hearts for things we loved as a child, especially if it’s a common thread through to adulthood… like books are for us avid readers.

  3. Echo your thoughts on YA books. You pose a good question about whether we read children’s books differently as an adult to how we read it as a child. I think the answer has to be yes. When you read the book as an adult you are reading about a world that we already understand and know. Children don’t have that knowledge so they are reading to learn about it.

    Karen

    • Good point, Karen. It’s a shame, that we lose that sense of wonder as we grow. It’s a feeling that can’t really be recaptured in the same way… but I guess that goes for anything and not just reading.

Comments are closed.