9 comments on “Armchair BEA – Nonfiction

  1. Even though I read and love nonfiction, I totally get what you mean about sinking and losing yourself in a book. I can do that with novels really easily, but sometimes it is harder with nonfiction (often, I think, because I know I’m going to want to review it later). But there are some authors that are just amazing and telling stories (even true ones) that I lose myself anyway. It just takes some time to find them :)

    • The funny thing is you’d think true crime would be right up my alley, but it holds no appeal for me whatsoever. Thanks for the recommendations on your blog, I’ll be sure to check them out. And thanks for stopping by!

      • I have a big weakness for true crime. I don’t know, it’s really voyeuristic and creepy and disconcerting, but I pick those kinds of books up all the time. I hope at least one of those recommendations is good :)

  2. I’m the same way, I almost never read non fiction and when I do, it’s usually a memoir. I think the cure for that would be to find some good narrative non fiction. I am a huge fan of the book Columbine and I’d probably enjoy other books written in a similar fashion.

    • I’m hesitant to read narrative nonfiction because I feel like I won’t be able to stop judging the story like it’s fiction. But I suppose that’s not really a good enough reason to not even try it. Thanks for stopping by!

    • Even for my lighter reads I typically stick to fiction but I’d just heard so many good things about this book, and though I’m not a constant reader I do enjoy popping onto her blog from time to time. I realized in writing this post that reading blogs, personal ones anyway, is like reading snippets of a memoir.

  3. I’m exactly the same, I usually read memoirs for nonfiction, like Let’s Pretend this Never Happened or Laurie Notaro’s I Love Everbody and Other Atrocious Lies. But I did read some narrative nonfiction in college that I enjoyed, one that was about the Twin Towers and another about journalism from a crime lens.

    • The Jenny Lawson book was so good. I love it when writers can bring light to hard subjects. Like Allie Brosh’s comics about depression. Hers is another book I need to read.

Comments are closed.