8 comments on “Armchair BEA – Blogger Development

  1. You have a nice blog. I think that as a new blogger it’s really to keep up the balance between the blog and real life. As you grow your blog you’ll see what works and what doesn’t. I am constantly surprised by what posts are popular and what posts get ignored.
    Keep up the great work.
    AH@Badass Book Reviews.

    • It seems like most bloggers, even those who’ve been going for years, still struggle with these things from time to time, so at least I know I’m in good company. Thanks for stopping by!

  2. I stayed away from self hosting for a while, but then came across a host that was pretty amazing and I jumped the bullet. Do I miss the free wordpress? Yeah, there is more of a network and people can follow you and find your posts. Yes, blogging is hobby. Like I said, I got lucky with a host and then won a blog design so I was able to tweak things and just design the header myself.

    I’m glad you’ve decided to write reviews in a format that suits you. If you think something was missing from reviews you read at other places, then someone else thinks the same thing!

    Jess @ Literary, etc.

    • I’m not saying I’ll never self-host (because of course the moment I make a definitive statement like that, I’ll change my mind) but for me, for right now, it just doesn’t make any sense. But maybe someday it’ll feel right to make that switch.

  3. Interesting! I’m exactly the opposite since I read blogs primarily for the reviews. That’s not to say I don’t enjoy a post about blogging that generates discussion. I do! But I’m far more likely to find those through people sharing a particular article on twitter, while I’ll follow a blog only if I like their reviews :)

    • A lot of times I’ll end up skimming reviews, or skipping them altogether, if it’s a genre I’m not interested in (or, conversely, if it’s a book already on my TBR and I don’t want to be influenced before I read it). But that’s what’s so great about the book blogging world is there’s something out there for everyone. Thanks for reading!

  4. Guest posting is a great way to build that community you desire. I have found so many people that I have thing in common with that I might not have discovered if it weren’t for guest posts. The first year of blogging is the hardest, but you’re on the right track if you’re already looking to improve! Tattooed Books

    • Thanks for your comments. It’s hard for me to network without it feeling fake, but then it’s frustrating to wait for it to happen naturally. I keep telling myself, blogging isn’t a race, and I’m only two months old!

Comments are closed.