11 comments on “Anticipation: A Look at Dan Brown

  1. Oh man, The Lost Symbol was atrocious. Yes, it’s entertaining, but in a mindless fluff kind of way (which, if you looking for escape, can be a good thing). I think The DaVinci code is terribly overrated, but that is not necessarily the fault of the author – more the fault of the people who talked it up. It’s like reading 50 Shades of Grey having previously been told it’s great literature. And who thought to cat Tom Hanks as Langdon…?

    Will I read it? Probably. I have a hard time disregarding Brown. I feel a certain home state kinship with him (we’re both from New Hampshire).

    I hope this one is better than the last too! EIther way, I’m sure it’ll be a bestseller.

    • With The Da Vinci Code, it was definitely the controversial subject matter that fueled its popularity… which, yes, led to its gaining more hype than it could ever live up to, at least to the reader crowd. But at the same time, I think it led a lot of people to pick it up who aren’t normally readers. And books that appeal to a non-reader probably have a high chance of success.

      And, yes, there’s no doubt in my mind that Inferno will be a bestseller, deserved or not.

      • You have to admire books that can do that. It’s one of the reasons I can’t entirely criticize Twilight or 50 Shades of Grey.

  2. I’ve only read Angels&Demons and The Da Vinci Code and after that I lost interest in him. Sure the books were entertaining but also foreseeable and repetitive and there lies my main objective. Or maybe it was the fact that he changed the professor’s companion after the first book (and in the next as well as far as I know) and if I have to read the same concept over and over I like to have some character development in it which you cannot get when you exchange characters.

    The thrill of the chase – in any crime novel, thriller, cop show – has always been of secondary interest to me. While I enjoy finding out whodidit and all of that, the reason why I stay with any of the above is because of the recurring characters, their relationships and their lives. I forget who the murderer was or what the essential plot point was after I closed the book for good but the people itself stay with me long after that.

    • Yeah, Langdon is the only one who carries over from one book to the next.

      So, do you not read a lot of stand-alones, since you only have the one book to get to know the characters?

      • Overall I still mostly read stand-alone books but not in this genre or crime novels which I read a lot when I was younger. There it was mostly series.

  3. Thrillers are not my main genre, which is probably a big reason why I do enjoy Dan Brown’s books very much — I don’t have a whole lot to compare him to because I don’t read extensively in the genre. I bought this one when it came out for my husband and he read it cover to cover one night when he got home from work and really enjoyed it. I will have to see what I think for myself when I get some time to read it. He claims this one is the most “controversial” of all the Langdon books, but won’t elaborate because he doesn’t want to spoil the story, but I must say I’m intrigued. I know the Da Vinci Code was quite controversial due to all the religious stuff, so I can only imagine what might be going on in this one!

    • I just read it last week. I did think it was a big improvement over The Lost Symbol, but Angels and Demons is still my favorite in the series. You’ll have to let me know what you think of it.

  4. For some reasons, I like The Lost Symbol better than Inferno. For one, I read the former in one sitting, while it took me 3 days to finish the latter. Inferno’s really boring for me. I think what Brown takes too long to do is researching. Everything (except the story of course) has to be accurate because he claims such in his book. That’s what I admire him for. He really does his research very well though sometimes I wish he’d just create a totally fictitious novel so he could devote his time fully on creating/writing good novels.

    • That’s a good point, although there are authors writing similar books with lots of research involved, with more frequent releases and more exciting stories. But… what he’s doing works for him, I guess, and if I don’t think his books are amazing there are plenty of people who do. Thanks for stopping by.

Comments are closed.