14 comments on “My Future with Goodreads

  1. I am a little worried that the reviews on Good Reads will become even more biased than they already are…I already avoid reading the book reviews on Amazon because of that problem in the past….but I don’t see myself not using either site now that they belong to the same company. I use Amazon a lot due to living in a rural area without many shopping opportunities, and I use Good Reads to keep track of what books I’ve read for my book review blog. I just don’t think I’ll be depending on Good Reads to give me unbiased book reviews, I expect that the reviews on Good Reads will start becoming even more biased like they are on Amazon.

    • GR and Amazon do seem to have different kind of reviewers. I think whether or not the quality of GR reviews changes will depend on how much Amazon cross-promotes their new acquisition, bringing in new reviewers, and how many of GR’s current users abandon ship. Thanks for reading!

  2. I don’t care much right now, but I would hope that they don’t make sweeping changes. I enjoy the site the way it is, and I buy ebooks from Amazon anyway, so it doesn’t particularly bother me with Goodreads, especially as I don’t buy through Goodreads to Amazon anyway. I’m a little miffed that they could possibly cross-post reviews, but at least it’d be people who are giving an honest look at the books rather than OMGLOL my friend wrote the BEST BOOK EVAR. I don’t know. We’ll just have to see. But I don’t think it’s likely I’ll leave Goodreads because of this acquisition.

    • True, posting GR reviews to Amazon would raise the quality of Amazon’s reviews… but then imagine if they also go the other way? And if GR users stop posting reviews because they don’t WANT to be cross-posted… there’s just too many variables to consider.

  3. Thanks for a level-headed reaction, which is sometimes rare on the internet.

    As an independent author, I’ve used Goodreads mainly as another way to improve awareness of my works. My best guess t this point is that this should improve promotion of my work.

    On the other hand, I saw Goodreads as a place where my book could be noticed and recommended without being tied to a financial arrangement. As much as I’d love to make money from my writing, I’m more interested in people reading and enjoying my books. And after all – no one will buy it if they aren’t reading and enjoying.

    In the end, I’m with you – let’s wait and see what happens.

    • Thanks for reading! Yeah, I’m coming from purely a reader’s perspective; I know there are a lot more considerations for authors and others in the industry. Good luck in weathering the changes to come.

  4. I feel the same way you do. Not leaving yet, but we’ll see what happens. I’m sad, though – I did like the indie nature of the site. I’m not anti-Amazon, though. I buy quite a bit from Amazon. I know, I know, that’s frowned upon – but with a limited budget, I can get the best deals there. I have to take that into consideration. I still use the library for a majority of my reading material.

    I’ll be sad if a lot of the people I care about leave Goodreads. I trust their recommendations and reviews a great deal.

    • I think it would take a pretty drastic change for me to leave completely. I could more likely see taking down my reviews and just sticking with star ratings, depending on what kinds of policy changes Amazon may make. It would take away a lot of the social aspect (which is what I love about GR), but at least I could still compare my books and ratings with other users.

  5. I’m anti-Amazon, myself, and I am disappointed by this purchase. I am happy for the founders of GR, but I will not be surprised if my GR account disappears in a few weeks. I don’t trust Amazon. At all.

    • They really haven’t given me a reason not to trust them. Then again, I haven’t used them enough to give them the opportunity to disappoint me. I know a lot of people feel the way you do. Are you thinking of switching to LibraryThing? Or some other bookish social networking site?

  6. I’m visiting this old post in light of the recent Goodreads drama. I’m really tardy to the party, so I have a lot of catching up to do. And maybe I’ll just be stating the obvious. It does seem to me that it would be against Amazon’s interests to have negative reviews (either about the book, the author, or even the cover art) on a reader’s website. Negative reviews probably don’t sell books. That explains their recent moves more to me rather than anything about tone of the community.

    Also, I love that, for the first time that I’ve ever seen, social media users are complaining about censorship rather than an infringement of their First Amendment rights. Yeah, no. The social media platform is not the government, therefore they can not infringe on your First Amendment Right. Censorship, however, yes, they can do. So hooray for Goodreads users being smarter than Facebook users at least!

    • I don’t know enough about business to know what’s really in Amazon’s interests… but one would have hoped that they’d recognize a community of readers is good for sales, period. Not sales of this book or that book, but just… sales. Getting people reading. Getting people buying books. Before I found Goodreads, I just read the same books over and over again. Since joining Goodreads, I’ve NEVER been at a loss for what to read next. But now that community is falling apart.

      I think there’s enough casual users of the site who aren’t necessarily in the book blogger community (and who are probably clueless about what’s going on, since GR never made a real announcement) that it will never die… which is a shame. It’d be kind of vindicating to see Amazon’s investment become useless to them.

      • I don’t know anything about business and should stop pretending that I do. I reread my earlier post and realized that I meant to say that I don’t think it’s *in* Amazon’s interest to have bad reviews. This whole day has been me being stupid. Please excuse me.

Comments are closed.