6 comments on “Review: The Target

  1. This author is so popular and I have yet to try a book by him. It’s something I hope to do in the future – I have read a lot of great reviews on his books. Speaking of – great review! I’m glad you enjoyed it, despite the fact it wasn’t exactly what you thought. That can be good or bad sometimes, and I’m glad it ended up being okay for you.

    I just finished a book last night and was pleasantly surprised. I had read some spoiler reviews that had my mind thinking one way – and it didn’t end up being exact to that and I was happy about it. I was bummed about the spoiler, and just kept pushing myself to read the book. I was actually relieved that it went a different way and I loved it.

  2. I haven’t tried this author yet but I’m keen to do so. As always I prefer to start series at the beginning even if they standalone.
    I often find that expectations of what a book is like can be a downer for me. When I really have no preconceptions about a book, I prefer it. I often don’t even read the blurb but jump straight it.

    • I’m the same way with series. And yes, I like to go in as blind as possible. I’ll usually read the blurb when I add a book to my TBR, but I won’t refresh my memory when I actually go to read it… and often in the case of auto-read authors, I won’t read it at all. Sometimes they can be spoilery or misleading, so I just like to avoid all that as much as I can. In this case, I wouldn’t say the blurb is misleading, I just interpreted it differently. I thought all the storylines would be happening more or less concurrently; it ended up being more of a “this happened, then this happened, then this happened” sort of thing… almost like several novellas mashed up together.

  3. When Eric got home from work last night he said, “I only have NINE MINUTES left in The Target and I had to stop it.” Then he sighed. Haha!

    He’s a big fan of this series because he really likes that there’s a teenage girl in the cast of main characters. And he loves the narrator of all the Baldacci audiobooks.

    • Julie is a great character. In fact, I think that’s part of the reason that neither of these sequels has quite lived up to the first book for me, because she has a much bigger role in that one.

Share your thoughts...

