18 comments on “People Will Insist on Giving Me Books

    • That is always a risk, but that’s when gift receipts come in handy. And if nothing else, even if I can’t trade it for something I want, I can pass it on to my local library. Thanks for stopping by!

  1. Do the books I bought myself count? I think everyone in my family is too intimidated to give me books. I did win a big box of books in a holiday giveaway, so that was a nice treat! Especially since it included a copy of The Luminaries, which I’ve had my eye on. Dumbledore is almost always right, but I’d take books over socks any day!

    • I actually did get a pair of socks this year! But I also got a book and a $25 gift card to B&N, so I guess I ended up on the winning side of the equation!

  2. Hah, I always loved that quote. Reminds me of my dad, who loves getting really useful things (hankies! soap on a rope!).
    I actually got some books this season (I hinted like crazy). I got A Tale for the Time Being and Tell the Wolves I’m Home from my boyfriend for Christmas. I also got The Signature of all Things from my Gran for my birthday, which is only next year, but I’ll be away at university.
    P.S: next year I’m making a Christmas tree like that.

  3. Ha! I love that quote from Dumbledore. Makes me laugh because I always ask for books!! :)

    I got a nice little stack of books, and a gift card to order more. I can’t wait to dive into them!!

  4. I got loads, including all of Call the Midwife (hooray), which my grandmother has been recommending to me for months now. I’m excited to read them!

    (And yeah, Dumbledore is nuts. Books are way better presents than socks.)

Share your thoughts...

